Wodeyar Dynasty Map

Map of Wodeyar Dynasty

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Map of Wodeyar Dynasty
Email Buy Now
*Map showing major cities and current country boundaries during the Wodeyar period.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

The very last royal dynasty that rule Karnataka was the Wodeyar Dynasty. Even after the Independence of India, their rule existed. The descendants of the Yadavas of Dwarika are believed to be the founders of this dynasty.
Also it is said that they were indigenous chieftains from Karnataka itself who became the founders of the. Two brothers namely Vijaya and Krishna are given the credit for the establishment of this Vijayanagara Empire. In 1399 AD, Vijaya started ruling under the name of. Its capital was Mysore.

The kingdom was taken over by Hyder Ali, after whom a number of kings came to rule over the city of Mysore towards the end of the seventeenth. Hyder Ali never claimed kingship neither did his son Tipu Sultan. There came a short period when the kingdom was under the control of a British regent. Some of the important kings among them were: Mummadi Krisnaraja Odeyar (1799-1831 AD) Nalmadi Krisnaraja Odeyar (1895-1940 AD) and Jayacama Rajendra Odeyar (1940-1950 AD). During 1761 till 1782 AD, Hyder Ali enjoyed undisputed power. From 1782 to 1799 AD, Tipu Sultan was crowned as the king.

These kings could do little in order to expand of their kingdom and did not enjoy much power over the Vijayanagara kingdom until Raja Odeyar declared independence from the British regent after defeating the functionary of that empire. The most important the kings in this dynasty are Raja Odeyar, Ranadhira Kantirava Narasaraja Odeyar and Cikkadevaraja Odeyar.

When Raja Odeyar came to power the Wodeyar kingdom mainly was constituted by merely 33 villages. The Mysore fort also built by him and in 1610 AD he shifted the capital from Mysore to Shrirangapattana. In order to expand the kingdom he included the whole of the Mysore district and Shrirangapattana. He was succeeded by Camaraja Odeyar V who took the expansion further. Places such as Hassan, Talakadu, Holenarasipura, Mandya and Cennapattana were taken under control by Camaraja Odeyar V. Also Camaraja wrote the meritorious Kannada version of the Mahabharatha known as the 'Camarajoktivilasa'.

Another king was Cikkadevaraja is also one of the most important kings of this dynasty. His military ingenuity, political acumen and administrative innovations are for which he is most remembered for. Mysore became an important kingdom of South India during his regime. He expanded the kingdom by conquering and defeating the Shahi rulers of Bijapur and Golkonda.
He even fought the great Shivaaji when he attacked on the fort of Srirangapattana. He entered into an agreement with Aurangazeb (the Mughal Emperor) which very well showed his political shrewdness.

The last Wodeyar king was Jayachamaraja Wodeyar who started ruling from 1940 and continued ruling for few months even after the independence of the country in 1947. When in 1950 India was declared a republic nation, he was given the position of the governor of Mysore. For two years he was even appointed as the governor of Madras in 1956. The title of 'Maharaja' was separated from his name in 1971. He died in 1974 and so did the Wodeyar Dynasty.

Last Updated on: September 02, 2019




Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations