Localities in Lucknow

Lucknow, the city of the Nawabs, is the capital of Uttar Pradesh. Thriving along the banks of the Gomti river, the city is famous for its rich culture and elaborate cuisine. It is also the largest city of Uttar Pradesh.

Lucknow is believed to be named after "Lakshman" also known as "Lakhan", the brother of Lord Ram. Originally named Lakhanpur, it eventually came to be known as Lucknow.

The Lucknow city is much popular for its hospitality and etiquettes. The culture of Lucknow is based on gentle and curteous behavior towards one another. It is the birthplace of many Urdu poets. The kind of Hindi spoken in the city is said to be the most humble in the country. Mughlai food is a specialty of this city with Biryani being the ultimate delight for tourists. The other tourist attractions of this place are chikan embroidery kurtas, the beautiful gardens and dance forms like Kathak.

The city is well connected to major cities of the country and can be reached by train, air or road. The taxi and the rickshaw drivers make it convenient to commute within the city. Popular areas of tourist interest are spread all over Lucknow. The Alambagh area has a major bus station connecting Lucknow to other places.

The localities like Nishatganj, Hazratganj, Kapoorthala, Gomti Nagar and Indira Nagar are popular for hand embroided garments, leather jootis, beautiful bangles and a variety of books. These areas are of great interest to shopaholics. The main market of Hazratganj is an amalgamation of the old and the modern. The Lalbagh area is famous for its kebabs and tikkas and Saharaganj for its huge variety of cappuccinos.

The Hussainabad area houses some of the oldest architectural structures of the city. Structures like Bara Imambara, Bhool Bhulaiya, Rumi Darwaza and clock tower are situated in this area. The Railway Station at Charbagh is one of the oldest railway station. It was built in the year 1914. With such a long list of tourist attractions, Lucknow makes it to the list of the most popular cities of the country.

Last Updated on 04/06/2013



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations