Railway Maps of Bihar

Araria Railway MapAurangabad Railway MapBanka Railway MapVaishali Railway Map
Begusarai Railway MapBhagalpur Railway MapBhojpur Railway MapBuxar Railway Map
Darbhanga Railway MapPurbi Champaran Railway MapGaya Railway MapGopalganj Railway Map
Jahanabad Railway MapJamui Railway MapKaimur Railway MapKatihar Railway Map
Khagaria Railway MapKishanganj Railway MapLuckeesarai Railway MapMadhepura Railway Map
Madhubani Railway MapMunger Railway MapMuzaffarpur Railway MapNalanda Railway Map
Nawada Railway MapPaschim Champaran Railway MapPatna Railway MapPurnia Railway Map
Rohtas Railway MapSaharsa Railway MapSamastipur Railway MapSupaul Railway Map
Saran Railway MapSheikhpura Railway MapSitamarhi Railway MapSiwan Railway Map

The Bihar Railways

Before the year 1996-97, Indian Railways held nine zones. However, the Railway Ministry considered setting up six new zones by reorganizing the present zones. The East Central Railways has its headquarters located at Hajipur in Bihar. Hajipur is located 200kms away by train route from the capital of Bihar state, Patna. The Eastern Central Railway Zone was inaugurated in September 1996, with an officer appointed on special rank of General Manager.


With the divisions of Danapur, Sonpur, Samastipur, Mughalsarai and Dhanbad, the East Central covers the entire Bihar. The temporary office of the ECR zone covers around 3000 square meters, which was built in the year 1997. Bihar Railways commenced its operations by supervising the operations in its Sonpur and Smastipur Divisions.

Trains of Bihar Railways

The prominent trains passing through Bihar Railways zone are Garib Rath running from Muzaffarpur Junction to Anand Vihar Terminal (New Delhi), Darbhanga Express, connecting Pune Junction and Dharbhanga Junctions, Avadh Express, linking Muzaffarpur Junction to Bandra Terminus, and the Katihar Amritsar Express between Katihar to Amritsar in Punjab.

The most important trains running through Bihar Railway Zone pass through Muzaffarpur Junction, Katihar Junction, Patna Junction and Darbhanga Junction.

Yards and Locomotive

Currently, the total estimated amount of the Bihar Projects includes a megadeal for 800 electric locomotives as well as 1, 000 diesel locomotives, which exceeds $13 billion (around Rs. 70, 000 crores). It includes the cost of locomotives, expenditure to be incurred on design and setting up of units. However, the two ambitious projects are still in pipeline- the diesel locomotive factory in Saran and the electric locomotive factory at Madhepura. The Bihar Railways are trying to generate revenues in order to increase its capabilities in order to meet the customer expectations thought dedication and hard work. Bihar Railways is very serious on those two projects and bidding process is being monitored directly by the prime minister's office.

Last Updated on : 30 March 2013