Kerala Government

The term Government can be defined as "the organization, machinery, or agency through which a political unit exercises authority and performs functions and which is usually classified according to the distribution of power within it".

The Government of any nation is the body or the institution that carries out the 3 functions of legislation i.e. law making, executive i.e. administration and implementation of the laws enacted by the legislature and most importantly the judiciary, the body that determines f the laws have been violated and if they have suggest means of reformation or punishment. India is a socialist, sovereign, secular, democratic republic besides being a federation. The state country has two sets of Governments to enhance the administrative efficiency, the Central Government and the State Government.

In Kerala the executive powers of the state rest with the Governor appointed by the President of India. But these executive functions are in fact being carried out by the Chief Minister and his Council of Ministers. They are elected representatives of the citizens and belong to the ruling party/ coalition. The current Governor of Kerala is Shri P. Sathasivam (since 3 September 2014) and the Chief Minister of the state is Shri Oommen Chandy (since 18 May 2011).

The current Council of Ministers has 19 members including the Chief Minister. To aid in the administrative functioning of the Government a number or departments and institutions have been instituted. The departments look into various area of utmost importance to the survival and prosperity of the citizens. The institutions owned by the government range from Universities to Private Sector Undertakings. The departments are again classified into Secretariat Departments and Field Departments.

Allied bodies such as Gram Panchayats and Municipal Corporations help in the governance of the local areas.

Last Updated on : September 11, 2014



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations