Districts of Mizoram

Aizwal District MapChampai District MapKolasib District MapLawngtiai District Map
Lunglel District MapMamit District MapSaiha District MapSerchhip District Map

Mizoram - 'The Land of the Hill People' is mountainous state in north eastern India. In 1987 it became the 23rd state of Indian Union. Primary it was divided into three districts, but later five more districts were created out of the former three. Every district is governed by a Deputy Commissioner. He is in charge of the administration and manages two more positions as the District Collector and the District Magistrate.

The 8 Mizoram Districts are


Aizawl - (Area - 3577 km2, Population - 404,054)
Its headquarters is Aizawl city which is also the state's capital. It's the most populated district of Mizoram. The district has 5 Rural Development Blocks and 14 legislative assembly constituencies.

Champhai - (Area - 3186 km2, Population - 125,370)
Its headquarters is Champhai town. The district comprises of 4 Rural Development Blocks, 5 Legislative Assembly constituencies and 88 inhabited villages. It also houses the Murlen National Park and Lengteng Wildlife Sanctuary.

Kolasib - (Area - 1382 km2, Population - 83,054)
Its headquarters is Kolasib town. The district has 2 Rural Development Blocks and 3 assembly constituencies.

Lawngtlai - (Area - 2557 km2, Population - 117,444)
Its headquarters is Lawngtlai town. The district has 2 Autonomous Councils, 4 Rural Development Blocks, 3 Legislative Assembly constituencies and 158 villages. It also houses the Ngengpui Wildlife Sanctuary.

Lunglei - (Area - 4538 km2, Population - 154,094)
Its headquarters is Lunglei town and is the second most populated in the state. The district has 4 Rural Development Blocks and 7 assembly constituencies.

Mamit - (Area - 3026 km2, Population - 85,757)
Its headquarters is Mamit town. The district has 4 Rural Development Blocks and 3 legislative assembly constituencies. It also houses the Dampa Tiger Reserve

Saiha - (Area - 1400 km2, Population - 56,366)
Its headquarters is Saiha town. The district has 3 Rural Development Blocks and 3 assembly constituencies. It also houses the Phawngpui Blue Mountain National Park.

Serchhip - (Area - 1422 km2, Population - 64,875)
Its headquarters is Serchhip town. The district has 3 sub-divisions and 3 legislative assembly constituencies. It also houses the Khawnglung Wildlife Sanctuary.

List of Districts in Mizoram

Sr. No.DistrictDistrict HQPopulation (2011)GrowthSex RatioLiteracyArea (km2)Density (/km2)

Last Updated on : August 25, 2014



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations