Telangana Rivers Map

River Map of Telangana

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Telangana River Map Karimnagar Adilabad Nizamabad Medak Hyderabad Rangareddy Mahbubnagar Nalgonda Khammam ORISSA CHHATTISGARH MAHARASHTRA KARNATAKA Warangal Andhra Pradesh
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*The Telangana Rivers Map showing the River Flowing in and out of Andhra Pradesh Disclaimer

Telangana is the 29th state of India and came into existence on 2 June 2014. The states shares its borders with Andhra Pradesh in the south, Chhattisgarh in the east, and Maharashtra and Karnataka in the west. Located on the Deccan Plateau, Telangana, though blessed with the presence of a few major rivers of India, is mostly dry and experiences semi-arid climate, with monsoonal rainfall.

Two of Telangana's districts, Khammam and Nalgonda, fall in the catchment area of Nagarjuna Sagar dam. This dam, one of the earliest ones of India, supplies water for irrigation purposes and hydro power generation to the state.

Situated at a high altitude, Telangana has prominent perennial rivers such as Godavari in the north and the Krishna in the south. Other rivers such as Bhima, Manair, Penganga, Akeru, Dindi, Manjeera, Paleru, and Pedda Vagu also irrigate the state.

Telangana is separated from Andhra Pradesh by the Krishna River, which acts as a geographical divider between the two. The Krishna River is the third-longest river of the country, originating in the Satara District of Maharashtra in the Western Ghats. This rivers flows across the state of Karnataka before reaching Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. Bhima is one of the prominent tributaries of Krishna River in Telangana.

River Godavari, the other most important river of Telangana, is the second-longest river of the country. This river originates in the Nashik district of Maharashtra and runs across the Deccan Plateau, before crossing Telangana and entering the Bay of Bengal. The river Manjeera is one of its major tributaries.

RiverLength (km)Length (miles)Drainage area (km)OutflowDistricts of Telangana
Godavari River1465910312812Bay of BengalNizamabad, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warrangal, Khammam
Krishna River1400870258948Bay of BengalNalgonda, Khammam
Bhima River86153570614Krishna RiverMahaboobnagar
Manjira River72445030844Godavari RiverNizamabad, Medak
Musi River256159NAKrishna RiverNalgonda, Ranga Reddy
Paleru River11270NAKrishna RiverKhammam

Last Updated on : June 3, 2014



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations