Track Your Constituency

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018

Telangana Assembly Election Result

Assembly Elections in Telangana

Telangana Assembly Elections Map
*Map showing the assembly constituencies of Telangana. Disclaimer

Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Schedule 

Poll events scheduleAssembly Election 2018
No of constituencies going to poll119
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification 16.10.201812.11.2018
Last Date of Nominations19.11.2018
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations20.11.2018
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures22.11.2018
Date of Poll07.12.2018
Date of Counting11.12.2018

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018

The state of Telangana will observe its assembly elections on November 7, 2018. Otherwise scheduled to happen in mid-2019, the polls will be conducted early, following the dissolving of assembly by the Chief Minister and Telugu Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President, Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) in September, 2018. He is currently serving as the caretaker CM till a new assembly is formed.

While KCR is confident about a second run, other parties have leaped into action, hoping to seize a victory. Congress President, Rahul Gandhi has promised a loan waiving for farmers, to an amount of Rs 2 lakh.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2014 Results Analysis

From the looks of it, it seems that the Telangana Rashtra Samiti is set to dominate the election results in the entire Telangana region. In all, there are 119 assembly seats in this region and in the early rounds of counting Telangana Rashtra Samiti has been able to establish a strong position in 51 seats. As per the latest information, it has been successful in winning 63 of the available seats. Considering the fact that only 60 seats are needed for a party to establish a majority in this about-to-be created province, this would be regarded as a good performance.

The Congress has been able to win only 21 seats in the initial rounds of counting. At the same time the alliance of Bharatiya Janata Party and Telugu Desam Party are doing well in 19 seats. In any case, a victory for the Telangana Rashtra Samiti will be deemed a significant one since this is the first assembly poll being held in the region. It will also be a historical moment for K Chandrashekhar Rao (KCR) because he has been at the forefront of the party's turnaround from the 2009 assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh when the party had won only 10 seats. With respect to that result this should be regarded as a quantum leap.

Congress fared rather poorly in the end with around 20 seats. This was a surprising result of sorts considering the fact that they had taken a prominent role in Andhra's bifurcation and the resultant creation of Telangana. In fact, when one considers that Andhra Pradesh had featured prominently on Congress' behalf when it won the 2004 national elections, this result would surely come as a major dampener. In all, this has been a year to forget for Congress after what transpired at the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

It is being said in certain circles that the Congress leaders in Telangana were unable to highlight the role that they had played in the formation of the state. S Jaipal Reddy, Sarve Satyanarayana and Balaram Naik, who had been members of the union administration, faced heavy defeats and this is being regarded as a major embarrassment for the party. The fate was similar for Ponnala Lakshmaiah who was the chief of the Telangana unit of the Indian National Congress.

In fact, KCR won by a margin of 19,333 votes in the Gajwel constituency. The Telugu Desam Party and BJP together won 20 seats in the region with TDP claiming 75% of the seats. The AIMIM was successful in 7 assembly segments including the very crucial Hyderabad seat. In fact they have held this seat since 1984.

Much like in Seemandhra, the creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India has played a major role in how the polls went for the concerned parties. As far as Congress was concerned, perhaps the time taken in creating the state as well as the immense loss of lives and overall political uncertainty at various times led to this situation.

Similarly, the hard work put in by KCR, especially in campaigning as well as the role he played in the overall struggle for the state's emancipation from the Andhra yoke played a major role in the voters electing in his favour as well as that of his party. The Telugu Desam Party, which has been a staunch critic of the central decision to bifurcate the state had previously entered into an alliance with the BJP and has won 20 seats that will give it some leverage as a major opposition in the state. However, it remains to be seen how far the party is able to influence the workings of the ruling party.

Media reports

Last Updated on : October 24, 2018