MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Burari for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Burari Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Burari Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Burari Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Burari Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Sanjeev Jha of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Burari with a vote margin of over 1,39,598 votes. He was contesting election against Shailendra Kumar of Janata Dal (United).

Key Facts of Burari Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Burari Assembly constituency (part of the North-East Lok Sabha constituency) was formed in 2008 as per the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission. Around 44% of the total population in Burari Vidhan Sabha seat belongs to the Purvanchali community (the people who migrated to Delhi from eastern Uttar Pradesh and the Western Bihar). In fact, the Purvanchali factor is so strong that they have elected a Purvanchali, Sanjeev Jha (from AAP), in the last Delhi assembly elections (both in 2015 and 2013).

In 2020, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) Sanjeev Jha has yet again filed his nomination from the Burari Vidhan Sabha constituency. BJP hasn’t given any candidate of its own and to honor its alliance with Janata Dal (United) it has supported Shailendra Kumar of JD (U). Congress, as per its coalition with Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), hasn’t given any candidate in this constituency and instead supported Pramod Tyagi of RJD. It remains to be seen whether AAP’s Sanjeev Jha is able to continue his winning streak and win Burari seat again in 2020.

The 2020 Burari Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Burari Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Burari Assembly Constituency was created in 2008 after the implementation of the reorganization recommendations by the Delimitation Commission.

  • It is part of the North-East Lok Sabha constituency. It is spread across two districts: North West Delhi district and North Delhi district.

  • The localities in Burari Vidhan Sabha constituency are Village Mukhmelpur, Village Ibrahimpur, Ibrahimpur, Burari, Village Kadipur, Nathupura, Village Nangli Poona, Village Mukandpur, Village Jagatpur, and Jahangirpuri Resttlement Colony.

  • The major urban localities in this constituency are Jahangirpuri Resettlement Colony, Ibrahimpur, and Nathupura. The major rural areas in this constituency are Mukhmelpur, Kadipur, Jagatpur, Nangli Poona, and Mukandpur.

  • The sex ratio in this assembly segment is highly skewed. The sex ratio in Burari constituency is just 795 females per 1,000 males (significantly lower than the state average of 824 females per 1,000 males). This has reflected upon the total number of female voters too in relation to the total number of registered electorates. Out of the total registered electorates of 3,57,331, the total number of females electorates is just 1,58,218.

Name of Assembly Constituency


Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North West Delhi and North Delhi districts

Lok Sabha Constituency

North-East Lok Sabha constituency

Total Registered Voters

3,57,331 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

Around 199100 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

1,58,218 Female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters


Main Rivals of Burari Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the candidates of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Janata Dal (United), and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). In 2020, JD (U) is in alliance with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is in alliance with Indian National Congress (INC).

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Sanjeev Jha

 – Sanjeev Jha has won the Burari constituency twice (2013 and 2015). He is the sitting MLA from this Vidhan Sabha seat.

 – He is the AAP Spokesperson in Delhi state.

 – He is also the Prabhari of State Jharkhand.

 – He was also the Chairman of DDC.

 – Sanjeev Jha is a full-time social worker.


Shailendra Kumar


Pramod Tyagi

Republican Party of India (Athawale)

Pankaj Kumar Agrawal

Jan Adhikar Party

Awdesh Verma

Shiv Sena

Dharam Veer


Shailendra Singh Parihar

Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Burari Constituency

Burari assembly constituency’s main issues/factors during 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • The politics in the Burari Assembly seat revolves around inclusivity for migrants, mainly Purvanchalis (who constitute over 40% of the population in Burari Vidhan Sabha constituency). Burari is considered as one of the most backward constituencies in Delhi.

  • This election will be fought in this seat on many localized issues including disbursal of authorization to the residents of the illegal settlements along with inclusivity for migrants including Purvanchalis. Some of the major problems faced by the residents of this constituency are poor roads, various unauthorized colonies, lack of portable drinking water, and many more.

  • BJP has recognized the importance of Purvanchalis in Delhi, especially the Burari assembly segment. The move to make well-known Bhojpuri actor and singer Manoj Tiwari the state unit President of Delhi is one step towards consolidating Purvanchali sentiment towards BJP. In fact, that’s why they have decided to support JD (U) candidate Shailendra Kumar (who belongs to the Purvanchali community).

  • The Narendra Modi led NDA government at the center has also brought a law for regularizing the unauthorized colonies in Delhi. Fulfilling this long-standing demand of the people in Delhi (including Burari) is expected to bring brownie points for BJP in the 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election in 2020 (especially in those constituencies that have many unauthorized colonies such as Burari Vidhan Sabha constituency).

Winners of Burari Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Burari Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) Sanjeev Jha won the Burari constituency by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Gopal Jha by 67,950 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Sanjeev Jha


1,24,724 votes (63.82%)

1,95,427 votes (67.78%)

Gopal Jha


56,774 votes (29.05%)

J. S. Chauhan


6,750 votes (3.45%)



2,343 votes (1.19%)

Manager Chaurasiya


930 votes (0.47%)

Dharampal Singh

Shiv Sena

561 votes (0.28%)

  • In 2020, it was won by AAP’s Sanjeev Jha
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Sanjeev Jha

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Shri Krishan