MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Narela for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Narela Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Narela constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Narela Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting the location of Narela constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Sharad Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Narela with a vote margin of over 86,262 votes. He was contesting election against Neel Daman Khatri of Bhartiya Janata Party.

Narela Key Facts and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election

Narela Assembly Constituency is a historically important place in Delhi, whose origin can be traced back to the Harappa and Indus Valley Civilizations. Its mention can also be found in the autobiography of Mughal emperor Jahangir, “Tuzuk-e-Jahangiri”. As a large part of the constituency is considered unauthorized, it is facing the basic issues.

The 2020 Narela Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Narela Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Narela Assembly Constituency is located in the Delhi-Haryana border. The area is situated close to one of Asia’s oldest and longest roads – the Grand Trunk Road.

  • This assembly constituency has been developed as the 3rd mega sub-city project of Delhi Development Authority (DDA) as part of its urban extension project (after Rohini Sub City and Dwarka Sub City).

  • Narela is an important business and commercial hub, thanks to the presence of the Narela Industrial Area and the Anaj Mandi.

  • Most of the localities in Narela assembly constituency are rural consisting villages such as Lampur, Bakhtawarpur, Bakouli, Akbarpur Majra, Hamidpur, Ghoga, Holambi Kalan, Holambi Khurd, Shahpur Garhi, Tigipur, Tajpur Kalan, and many more.

  • Narela is a Jat-dominated Assembly segment. Around 30% of voters in this constituency belong to Jat community.

Name of Assembly Constituency


Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

North West Delhi (after the delimitation of 2008)

Total Registered Voters


Total Registered Male Voters


Total Registered Female Voters


Total Registered Third Gender Voters


Main Rivals of Narela Seat in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election:

In this election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Sharad Chauhan

Became MLA in the 6th Legislative Assembly of Delhi (2015) from Narela constituency.

Elected as Parliament Secretary of Revenue.

Earlier belonged to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) before joining AAP just before the 2015 Assembly election.

In 2007, became a councillor of MCD (Municipal Corporation of Delhi), Ward 4, Bakhtawarpur.


Neel Daman Khatri

Became MLA in the 2013 Legislative Assembly of Delhi from Narela constituency.

In 2012, became an MCD councillor.


Siddharth Kundu

President of Delhi North-West Parliament Youth Congress


Mahender Chaudhary



Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Narela Constituency

Narela mainly struggles from present-day issues such as:

  • Lack of water supply and sewerages

  • Poor road condition (includes potholes)

  • Lack of a proper transport system

  • Traffic congestion

  • Absence of metro railway yet (Delhi Metro Red Line’s Phase IV Rithala-Narela extension expected to be completed by 2024)

Winners of Narela Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Narela Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Sharad Chauhan won the Narela constituency defeated BJP’s Neel Daman Khatri by 40,292 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Sharad Chauhan


96,143 votes (59.97%)

1,60,316 votes (66.51%)

Neel Daman Khatri


55,851 votes (34.84%)

Praveen Kumar Bhugra


4,643 votes (2.9%)

Roopesh Bhardwaj


1,662 votes (1.04%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Sharad Kumar
  • In 2013, it was won by BJP’s Neel Daman Khatri

  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Jaswant Singh Rana

  • In 2003 and 1998, it was won by INC’s Charan Singh Kandera

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Inderaaj Singh