Kannad Language

Kannad Language is one of the four important Dravidian languages. The other three being Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam. This language is considered to be almost as old as Tamil. It is the official language of the Indian state of Karnataka. It is also spoken by a section of the population in the South Indian states of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. This language of Karnataka is also used in the state of Kerala.

The modern Kannad script closely resembles the Telugu script. The script of the Kannad language is believed to have originated from southern Bramhi lipi during the period of Ashoka. The script underwent modification in various stages during the rules of the Sathavahanas, Gangas, Kadambas, Rastrakutas and Hoysalas. The modern version of this script is known to have emerged in the thirteenth century. The script was used in the inscriptions of the ancient Chalukya of Badami and the Kadambas of Banavasi since as early as the seventh century.

Scholars have categorized the official language of Karnataka into four types basing their research on the stages of modification. The earliest phase of Kannad language is known as the Purva Halegannada. It is the style of language that was used from the earliest days till the tenth century. The second phase is the one used between tenth and twelfth centuries. It is referred to as Halegannada. Then comes Nadugannada, the third phase. It was popular during the span between twelfth and fifteenth centuries. The fourth phase is known as Hosagannada Kannad.

Languages like Tulu, Kodava and Konkani also uses the same script as used by the Kannad language.

Last Updated on 9/14/2011