People of Nagpur

People of Nagpur belong to different religious communities namely Hindus, Jains, Buddhists, Christians, Muslims, Jews, Sikhs, Zoroastrians, etc. The people largely comprise the society and culture of Nagpur.

According to the statistics, the total number of men and women belonging to the different areas of Nagpur are 20,95,489 and 19,55,955 respectively. It is estimated that total urban population of Nagpur is about 2,129,500, which comprises about 410,000 households posited in Nagpur. The given statistics include that about 25% of the total population of Nagpur comprises of the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.

To begin with, it can be said that Hinduism is the predominant religion of Nagpur. The Nagpur people are the staunch followers of Hinduism: a large part of the population of Nagpur comprises Hindus. The Hindus in Nagpur are divided into a number of castes. The Hindu people in Nagpur are categorized into following castes:

  • Ahirs
  • Bahana
  • Badhai
  • Bhoyer
  • Brahman
  • Cambhar
  • Dhirmar
  • Dhobi
  • Govari
  • Kalar
  • Kayastha
  • Kosti
  • Kumbhar
  • Kunbi
  • Mali, etc.
Among the people at Nagpur, Jains community covers a considerable part of the demographics. Furthermore, the Jains are divided into Digambars and Svetambars. The Jains in Nagpur are said to be a set of peace-loving people who avoid the destruction of animals. Beside the Hindus and Jains, the people of Nagpur contain Christians, Parsees and Muslims.

Thus, the religion in Nagpur presents a distinct pattern: together with all the religions housed in Nagpur, Nagpur emerges a cosmopolitan district of Maharashtra. been bestowed with the title of the ‘winter capital of Maharashtra’.

Last Updated on 6 September 2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations