script) -->

Thanjavur Education

Thanjavur education comprises of the schools, colleges and universities in the city. The education system of Thanjavur also includes the teacher training institutes. The schools, colleges, institutes and universities of Thanjavur help the students of the city to keep abreast with the latest technologies. It also strengthens the future prospects of the students studying in the educational institutes of Thanjavur.

The schools of Thanjavur occupies a significant position in the education system of the city. It provides primary and secondary education to the students and prepares them for the tertiary level of education. The schools in Thanjavur creates the foundation for the edifice of knowledge. Some of the important schools in Thanjavur that deserves special mention in this context are:

  • Kalyanasundaram Higher Secondary School
  • Selvaraj High School
  • Julian Burgess Stella Marys School
  • Karanthai Tamil Sangam
  • Don Bosco Matriculation School
  • Rajah's Higher Secondary School
  • Thanjavur Oxford Public School
  • St. Joseph's Girls Higher Secondary School
  • St. Antony's Higher Secondary School
  • Kamalam Subramaniam Higher Secondary School
Furthermore, the colleges and universities of Thanjavur also form an integral part of the education of the city. The colleges and universities helps the students to opt for higher studies and research. The students can specialize in physics, mathematics, english, economics, botany, computer science, biology, tamil, chemistry, accountancy and many other subjects belonging to Science, Commerce and Humanities streams in the colleges and universities at Thanjavur. Some of the major colleges and universities of Thanjavur are:
  • Thanjavur Medical College
  • Periyar Maniammai College of Technology for Women
  • Adaikala Matha College
  • Dr.Nallikuppusamy Arts College
  • Government Rajah's Serfoji College
  • Moti and Moti College for Women
  • Ponnaiyah Ramajayam College
  • Khadhir Mohideen College
  • Tamil University

Last Updated on 06 December 2011