Thanjavur Universities

Tamil University and SASTRA Deemed University are among the famous Thanjavur universities. These universities of Thanjavur enable the students to specialize in a number of subjects belonging to Science, Commerce and Humanities streams. Several colleges in Thanjavur are affiliated under these universities.

The Tamil University is the one of the major universities of the city. It was established in 1981 by Mr M G Ramachandran. The university got a statutory recognition under the University Grants Commission in 1983. The reason behind the creation of the Tamil University in Thanjavur is to promote Tamil. Therefore, the objective of the university is to facilitate higher research in Tamilology. The university also aims at providing advanced study in Linguists, Lexicography, Drama, Translation and Manuscriptology. The Tamil University also provides opportunities for research. The university offers M Phil and Ph D in Music, Drama, Translation, Literature, Ancient Science, Philosophy, Linguistics, Siddha Medicine, Lexicography and many other subjects.

SASTRA University of Thanjavur offers a number of courses in Education, Science, Arts, Management and Engineering. The university was established in 1984 under the name of Shanmugha College of Engineering. Later, the university was renamed as Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology and Research Academy (SASTRA). SASTRA is located about 17 kilometers from Thanjavur on the National Highway connecting Thanjavur to Tiruchirapalli. Some of the courses available at the SASTRA University are MBA, MCA, B Tech, M Tech and Ph D. It is noteworthy that the university provides a number of facilities for the students.

Last Updated on 06 December 2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations