Jharkand Administration

Jharkhand administration is comprised of a legislative body of 81 members of the legislative assembly. A council of 11 cabinet ministers works under the supervision of the chief minister in order to look after the operations of the various departments of the state.

The administration of Jharkhand is chosen through a democratic electoral process. The last assembly elections were held in 2005, when the NDA seized power to defeat the UPA by a wide margin.

Jharkhand Executive

Jharkhand executive is headed by the chief minister Sri Madhu Kora. A council of ministers looks after the smooth workings of the various departments responsible for the governance of the state. There are 11 cabinet ministers presently who form the council of ministers in Jharkhand government. The bureaucratic set up is strong, as the officers involved in various directorate and secretariat offices look after the workings of their respective departments. The Jharkhand High Court is the apex body of the judicial wing of the Jharkhand administration.

Jharkhand Legislative

Jharkhand legislative is going through its first legislative session. The tenure is for five years, unless certain inevitable situation causes it to be dissolved prior to the stipulated time. The legislative of Jharkhand is the supreme law giving body. Jharkhand legislative is a unicameral body with 81 members to the legislative assembly, chosen from the 81 assembly constituencies of the state, through an electoral process. The legislative in Jharkhand operates through three sessions as in other legislative councils of the state, budget, monsoon and winter.

Members of the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly

The members of the Jharkhand legislative assembly are elected from the assembly constituencies of the state. There are a total of 81 seats in the Jharkhand legislative assembly, with an equal number of members of the legislative assembly.

The BJP led NDA is the ruling coalition of the Jharkhand legislative assembly at present, assuring 42 out of the 81 seats at the beginning of the session. However, certain shifts in the political scenario have changed the equation to a degree. However, the Jharkhand legislative continues to be one of the most widely represented legislative councils as far as the sheer spectrum of political parties go.


Jharkhand judiciary is an important part of the governance of the state. The Jharkhand High Court is the apex court of the judiciary in Jharkhand. Apart from this, there are many lower courts including district courts that look after the civil and the criminal cases reported in the state. The munsefs look after the civil cases whereas the judicial magistrates look after the various criminal cases reported in the state.

High Court of Jharkhand

The high court of Jharkhand is the apex court of the Jharkhand judiciary. Located in Ranchi, this high court was formed after the formation of the state in 2000. The permanent bench of the Patna high court at Ranchi was transformed into the Jharkhand High Court. With nine judges at present, working under the supervision of Hon'ble Chief Justice Sri M Karpaga Vinayagam, the entire judiciary at Jharkand territory falls under the juridical supervision of the Ranchi High Court.

Last Updated on : 25th March 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations