Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Ltd.

Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Limited is the only chemical fertilizer manufacturing unit in Karnataka. Set up in the year 1972, it was given the license for operating in the year 1976. This chemical fertilizers company in Karnataka is a part of the very famous UB Group, which holds 30% of the total shares of the company.

Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Limited in Karnataka is situated in front of the New Mangalore Port at Panambur on the banks of river Gurpur, which is only 9 kilometers away from the main hub of Mangalore city. The plant is easily accessible through both rail and road. The National Highway-17 separates it from the New Mangalore Port.

The biggest achievement of Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Limited at Karnataka had undergone the ISO 14001 certification in 2003 for Environment Management System. Now, this certification has been upgraded to ISO 14001:2004 in addition to OHSAS certification.

The present turnover of Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Limited of Karnataka is over Rs.1000 crores. The two main products of this chemical fertilizer company near Mangalore are urea and ammonia. Apart from this, the company also produces ammonium bi carbonate, di-ammonium phosphate, muriate of potash, granulated fertilizer and so on. The current production of the company is 3,80,000 MT of urea and 2,17,800 MT of ammonia per year.

Mangalore Chemical and Fertilizers Limited have taken up the 5 ā€˜Sā€™ techniques i.e. Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu and Shitsuke, which would help it in the following:

  • Seiri would help in sorting out things so that they can be availed on time.
  • Seiton would help in proper arrangement of things so that they can be used on time.
  • Seiso would help in maintaining clean work area.
  • Seiketsu would help in standardization.
  • Shitsuke would help in making 5S a part of life and daily routine.
The main aim behind adapting this technique was to improve the operational efficiency by eliminating waste and unwanted materials.

Last Updated on 21 September 2011