Jammu and Kashmir Railway Map

Jammu & Kashmir Railway Network Map

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Jammu & Kashmir Railway Network Map Jammu Srinagar City Udhampur City Jammu City Samba Kathua Udhampur Doda Ramban Reasi Rajouri Kulgam Pulwama Shupiyan Anantnag Badgam Srinagar Punch Baramula Kupwara Bandipore Ganderbal Kishtwar Kargil Leh PUNJAB HIMACHAL PRADESH PAKISTAN CHINA AFGHNISTAN
Print Email Save   Buy Now 
*Map showing entire rail network of jammu & Kashmir. Disclaimer

Banihal - Qazigund Rail Link

A rail new rail project connecting Kashmir with Jammu and the rest of the country has been inaugurated by the Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress president Sonia Gandhi. The new 11.2 km long Pir Panjal Railway Tunnel or the Banihal-Qazigund Tunnel connecting the Bichleri Valley of Banihal with the Qazigund region of Kashmir Valley has been built and is operational.

The digging of the tunnel was completed by October 2011 and its lining and setting of railway tracks was completed by the next year. The trial runs began at the end of the year 2012. By the end of June 2013, commercial runs had begun. The Pir Panjal Railway Tunnel along with the rail link was inaugurated on 26th June 2013. It reduces the distance by 17 km between Qazigund and Banihal.

The tunnel is the longest in India and Asia's third longest railway tunnel. The tunnel's has been constructed at an average elevation of 5,770 ft (1,760 m) and is 1,440 ft (440 m) below the existing road tunnel.

The tunnel has been constructed by Hindustan Construction Company (HCC) for IRCON International Limited, a Public Sector Undertaking, as part of its Udhampur-Srinagar-Baramulla rail link project.

The rail link tunnel will make transportation easy during winters, as during this season the severe weather forces the road tunnel on the Srinagar-Jammu highway to close down.

By 2018, the Udhampur-Banihal section of the Kashmir Railway will get constructed till then people will have to travel to Banihal by road and then take the train from Banihal to Srinagar.

Last Updated on : July 4, 2014

  Buy this Map  



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations