Track Your Constituency

Jammu & Kashmir General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2024 Latest News & Live Updates

Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Election Results

Map of Jammu and Kashmir Parliamentary Constituencies

Jammu and Kashmir Parliamentary Constituencies Baramulla Srinagar Anantnag Udhampur Jammu
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir State. Disclaimer

After the abrogation of Article 370 and the division of the erstwhile state into Union territories in 2019, Jammu and Kashmir underwent substantial administrative restructuring. Previously, Ladakh was part of the Jammu and Kashmir constituency until it was designated as a separate Union territory in 2019.

Jammu and Kashmir General Elections 2024

The Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir comprises 5 Lok Sabha seats: Baramulla, Srinagar, Anantnag-Rajouri, Udhampur, and Jammu. The upcoming Lok Sabha elections will mark the first electoral process since the abrogation of Article 370 on August 5, 2019.

The Lok Sabha elections in Jammu and Kashmir will be conducted over five phases, with voting scheduled as follows: Phase 1 on April 19 in Udhampur, Phase 2 on April 26 in Jammu, Phase 3 on May 7 in Anantnag-Rajouri, Phase 4 on May 13 in Srinagar, and Phase 5 on May 20. Vote counting for all phases will occur on June 4, coinciding with the announcement of election results for the Union Territory.

Number of seats5
Issue of gazette notification March 20 & 28 and April 12, 18 & 26
Last date to submit nominationMarch 27 & 28 and April 19 & 25, and May 3
Last date of withdrawal of candidatureMarch 30, April 8, 19 & 29 and May 6
Date of election April 19 & 26 and May 7, 13 & 20
Result Announcement1 Jun 2024

Election History

During the 2019 Lok Sabha Election, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured victory in 2 seats, while the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) emerged victorious in 3 seats. Additionally, the seat representing Ladakh (formerly part of Jammu and Kashmir) was won by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Farooq Abdullah of the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKN) secured victory in the Srinagar constituency during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, garnering 106,750 votes. Hasnain Masoodi, also from the JKN, emerged victorious in the Anantnag constituency with 40,180 votes. Mohammad Akbar Lone, representing the JKN, won the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency with 133,426 votes. In the same elections, Dr. Jitendra Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) clinched victory in the Udhampur constituency, securing 724,311 votes. Additionally, Jugal Kishore, also from the BJP, won the Jammu constituency in Jammu and Kashmir with 858,066 votes.

Political Parties Competing in the 2024 Elections

Jammu and Kashmir is preparing for its inaugural Lok Sabha election following the abrogation of Article 370 and the division of the former state into Union territories. Below is the lineup of parties contending for the 5 Lok Sabha Seats:

  • National Democratic Alliance (NDA): The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is a coalition of political parties that has governed India under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA): The Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) is a notable multi-party political coalition comprising 40 parties across India. In Jammu and Kashmir, the Indian National Congress and the People's Democratic Party (PDP) will serve as the representatives of this alliance.
  • J&K Apni Party: The Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party emerged in March 2020, under the leadership of former PDP leader Syed Altaf Bukhari. Comprising former PDP leaders, it aims to address the region's socio-economic and political challenges while advocating for the interests of its residents.
  • Democratic Progressive Azad Party: Former Congress leader and ex-Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad floated the Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) in September 2022. The party is seen as a new political entity aiming to bring forth progressive and inclusive policies for the development of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • J&K People’s Conference: Formed in 1978 by former Hurriyat leader Abdul Gani Lone, the Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference (J&K PC) has deep roots in north Kashmir’s Kupwara district. The party has played a significant role in advocating for the rights of the people of Jammu and Kashmir and has been active in the political landscape of the region for decades.
  • CThe Communist Party of India (Marxist): CPI(M) is a prominent political party in India, known for its socialist and Marxist ideology. Established in 1964, the CPI(M) advocates for social justice, secularism, and the rights of the working class.
  Parliamentary Constituencies in Jammu & Kashmir  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name

Last Updated on :

Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2024 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our X account, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2024 General Elections. The result will be announced on 4th June this year.