List of Current State Governors and Lieutenant Governors in India

Governors and Lieutenant Governors of India


The President of India is the constitutional head of the country (Republic of India). As part of the “checks and balances” that keeps our democracy a stable one, however, a Governor is appointed to head each state.

The Governor is the representative of the President in each state. In the normal course of events, the Governor is merely a nominal head and though all executive decisions are made by the Chief Minister and the state Cabinet in the name of the Governor, the latter is devoid of any real executive powers.

Articles 153 to 156 of the Indian Constitution deal with the role and responsibilities, and with the appointment of the Governor of a state. The President of India appoints the Governor of any state. The general term for a Governor to hold office is five years, though the President may remove the incumbent Governor from office at any time and there is no “security of tenure”. In 1956, an amendment was made to the constitution, making it possible for the Governor to take additional charge of more states (usually a neighbouring state).

Governors of the various states of India and the dates they took charge are as follows (as on 19 January 2017) –

Sl no State Name of the Governor Since
1 Andhra Pradesh E. S. L. Narasimhan 28 December 2009
2 Arunachal Pradesh B.D. Mishra 3 October 2017
3 Assam Banwarilal Purohit 10 October 2017
4 Bihar Lalji Tandon 22 August 2018
5 Chhattisgarh Shri Anandiben Patel 15 August2018
6 Goa Mridula Sinha 31 August 2014
7 Gujarat Om Prakash Kohli 16 July 2014
8 Haryana Satyadeo Narain Arya 22 August 2018
9 Himachal Pradesh Acharya Dev Vrat 12 August 2015
10 Jammu & Kashmir Satya Pal Malik 22 August 2018
11 Jharkhand Draupadi Murmu 18 May 2015
12 Karnataka Vajubhai Vala 1 September 2014
13 Kerala P. Sathasivam 5 September 2014
14 Madhya Pradesh Anandi Ben Patel 23 January 2018
15 Maharashtra C Vidhyasagar Rao 30 August 2014
16 Manipur Najma Heptulla 21 August 2016
17 Meghalaya Tathagata Roy 22 August 2018
18 Mizoram Nirbhay Sharma  26 May 2015
19 Nagaland  Padhmanabha Acharya 19 July 2014
20 Odisha Ganeshi Lal 29 May 2018
21 Punjab V. P. Singh Badnore 22 August 2016
22 Rajasthan Kalyan Singh 4 September 2014
23 Sikkim Ganga Prasad 20 July 2013
24 Tamil Nadu Banwarilal Purohit 6 October 2017
25 Telangana E. S. L. Narasimhan (Additional Charge) 2 June 2014
26 Tripura Kaptan Singh Solanki 22 August 2018
27 Uttar Pradesh Ram Naik 22 July 2014
28 Uttarakhand Baby Rani Maurya 22 August 2018
29 West Bengal Keshari Nath Tripathi 24 July 2014

President’s Representative, Not Agent of Centre

The Governor enjoys a number of executive, legislative, judicial, and emergency powers. The Governor’s assent is necessary for passing any law at the state level and this is a mere formality. The Governor also has the power to promulgate ordinances and to select the Chief Minister in case there is no majority in the state legislative assembly.

The Governor is consulted by the President in matters of High Court judges’ appointments and the Governor also appoints the district court judges. The most important power held by the Governor, however, is that of imposing the President’s Rule in case of any emergency arising in the state.

In such circumstances, the Governor overrides the advice of the state’s Council of Ministers and even the Chief Minister. In recent times, the role of the Governor has been re-examined after a number of Governors have been known to act upon the guidance of the Union Council of Ministers.

The Governor’s role is not to be an “agent of the Centre” but to act as a representative of the President – looking upon the welfare of the state and its people in a fair, unbiased, and nonpartisan manner. It is the Governor’s responsibility to behave circumspectly and harmoniously balance the differences that the central and state governments may have, keeping in mind only the welfare of the masses. While no such written rule exists, it is precisely for this reason that a person is not appointed as the Governor of his/her own state of origin.

Union Territories

While the 29 states of India have the Governors as the President’s representative, the Union Territories of the country have Administrative Heads to look after the various functions. The exceptions to this are the Union Territories of Delhi (National Capital Territory), Puducherry, and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. These three UTs have Lieutenant Governors (LGs). The LGs have the same power as that of any Governor of state in India.

The Administrative Heads of the other Union Territories is usually and a member of the Indian Administrative Services. In case of Chandigarh, though, for the sake of convenience the Governor of Punjab is also appointed the Administrative Head.

Here are the Lieutenant Governors and Administrators of the Union Territories of India  (as on 19 January 2017) –

Sl no Union Territory Lieutenant Governors/Administrators Name Since
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lieutenant Governor Admiral D K Joshi 22 August 2016
2 Chandigarh Administrator V. P. Singh Badnore 22 August 2016
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Administrator Praful Khoda Patel 30 December 2016
4 Daman and Diu Administrator Praful Khoda Patel 29 August 2016
5 Delhi (National Capital Territory) Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal 31 December 2016
6 Lakshadweep Administrator Farooq Khan 6 September 2016
7 Puducherry Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi 29 May 2016


Also Read:

Chief Ministers & Governors of Indian States

Governors Biography