Punjab Rivers and Lakes

The state of Punjab, situated in the northwest part of India, is at once recognized as the land of five rivers. In fact, the state got its name from the words 'Punj', which means five, and 'aab', which means water, thus the word 'Punjab' together meaning five waters. These five rivers that drain the fertile lands of Punjab have their origin from various small lakes in the mighty Himalayas. Being fed by the melted water of Himalayas, the rivers have continuous source of water all through the year.

In order of their location from the capital of India the rivers are Beas, Sutlej, Ravi, Chenab and Jhelum. Beas and Sutlej merge as one river retaining the name Sutlej at Harike in Punjab just before crossing the border of Pakistan gradually merging into the Indus River. These rivers are the main sources of economy for Punjab, especially the breadbasket of Punjab province.

The area of Punjab stretching between the rivers of Beas and Sutlej is popularly known as Doaba. The major cities in this part of Punjab are Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur and Nawan Shahr. The area between Beas and Chenab rivers and on either sides of Ravi together is popularly termed as Majha. This part can truly be called the heart of Punjab and one of the major cities of this part is Amritsar. The Majha part of Punjab have largely been developed by converting the forests into cultivating land and is called Bar. The area beyond Chenab River in North and around river Jhelum is popularly termed as Pothohar. The area between the rivers Ravi and Chenab is widely known as Rachna doab. The area of Malwa in southern Punjab lying in the east of river Beas, include cities like Ludhiana, Patiala, Ambala, Karnal, Sangrur, Malerkotla, Shahabad, and Abohar.

Last Updated on 22th January 2013



Which state in India has its own constitution? Jammu and Kashmir is the only Indian state which has its own constitution. The constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, which was adopted on 17 November 1956 and came into effect on 26 January… Read More...
Which state in India is the largest producer of milk?India, which is well-known for its dairy products, is the largest producer of milk, second only to United States (in terms of cow milk). The country produces nearly 50 to 60 million tonnes of milk every year and currently contributes around 9.5 percent of the global… Read More...
Which Indian state has the maximum number of major ports? Nearly 7,500 km long Indian coastline makes the country one of the largest peninsulas in the world. There are nine coastal Indian states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu,… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations