Puri Festivals

Puri festivals form an important part of the socio-cultural life of Puri. Ratha Yatra, Chandan Yatra, Dola Yatra, etc, are some of the important festivals of Puri which are celebrated with immense joy and spiritual fervor.

Some of the important festivals in Puri are:
  • Rath Yatra Festival - Rath Yatra Festival is one of the important festivals at Puri. The Rath Yatra Festival, which is also known as the Car Festival, commemorates the journey of Lord Krishna from Gokul to Mathura.
  • Chandan Yatra Festival - Chandan Yatra Festival is a 21 day festival that is held during the month of 'Baisakh'.
  • Kumar Purnima Festival - This festival is celebrated during the month of Aswina. On this occasion, the devotees of Lord Krishna, who is known as Lord Jagannath in Puri and Goddess Lakshmi play dice on the behalf of their titular deities.
  • Puri Beach Festival - This festival is held in the month of November for more than 5 days. The festival is organized by the Tourism of Orissa. The festival is a platform to celebrate the artistic heritage of Orissa.
  • Snana Yatra - The Snana Yatra is celebrated in the month of Jyestha. On the full-moon day of Jyestha, Lord Krishna along with Subhadra and Balabhadra are fetched out from their hut to be bathed in the bathing pandal.
  • Hera Panchami Festival - Hera Panchami Festival is celebrated on the fifth day after Ratha Yatra in the month of July. Hera Panchami Festival is held on the Shukla Panchami.
  • Avhisheka - Avhisheka is the coronation ceremony of Lord Jagannath. Avhisheka marks the beginning of the annual cycle of festivals at Puri.
  • Dola Yatra - Dol Yatra is a spring festival of Puri. On Dola Yatra, replicas of Lord Jagannath, Balabhadra and Subhadra are taken to the altar where they are kept for five days. Dola Yatra is one of the most popular festivals in Puri.
To know more about the Puri festivals, click on the following links:

Last Updated on : 12/03/2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations