Shimla Administrative Setup

The Shimla Administrative setup handles the entire gamut of municipal and civic affairs of the city. The Shimla administrative setup is regarded as one most well designed and handled administrative models in the Indian Republic.

The Shimla Administrative Setup is governed by the Collectorate. The top official of the Collectorate is the Deputy Commissioner (D.C) Shimla. The other members of the Collectorate include; The Assistant Deputy Commissioner (A.D.C) Shimla, Assistant District Magistrate (A.D.M) Protocol, A.D.M Law and Order, Assistant Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner, P.O DRDA and District Revenue Officer. All the above mentioned officers directly report to the Deputy Commissioner dealing on their different subjects.

The Shimla Administrative Setup is segregated to a number of Subdivisions as to deliver effective governance. There are seven administrative divisions based on the number of districts. Each district has a Sub Divisional Magistrate (S.D.M) assigned to it. It is to be noted that Shimla is divided into urban and rural divisions. Thus the administrative setup is as follows:

  • S.D.M. Shimla (Urban)
  • S.D.M. Shimla (Rural)
  • S.D.M. Theog
  • S.D.M. Rampur
  • S.D.M. Rohru
  • S.D.M. Chopal
  • S.D.M. Dodra-Kwar
The Subdivisions are further divided into Blocks. There are nine Blocks in the Shimla Administrative Setup. There is a Block Divisional Officer (B.D.O) assigned to each block. The complete list includes:
  • B.D.O. Mashobra
  • B.D.O. Basantpur
  • B.D.O. Rampur
  • B.D.O. Narkanda
  • B.D.O. Chauhara
  • B.D.O. Jubbal
  • B.D.O. Theog
  • B.D.O. Rohru
  • B.D.O. Chopal
The Blocks are further categorized into Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils. The list of tehils and Sub Tehsils is as follows:
  • Tehsildar Shimla(Urban)
  • Tehsildar Shimla(Rural)
  • Tehsildar Sunni
  • Tehsildar Kumarsein
  • Tehsildar Jubbal
  • Tehsildar Rampur
  • Tehsildar Kotkhai
  • Tehsildar Jubbal
  • Tehsildar Chirgaon
  • Tehsildar Rohru
  • Tehsildar Chopal
  • Tehsildar Dodra-Kwar
  • Naib-Tehsildar Tikkar
  • Naib-Tehsildar Nankhari
  • Naib-Tehsildar Nerwa
  • Naib-Tehsildar Kupwi
  • Naib-Tehsildar Junga
Last Updated on 26 August 2010


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations