Map of Himachal Pradesh Shimla City Map Shimla Solan City Map Dharamsala City Map Chamba City Map Sirmaur Solan Bilaspur Mandi Hamirpur Una Kangra Chamba Kullu Kinnaur Lahul & Spiti JAMMU & KASHMIR CHANDIGARH PUNJAB HARYANA UTTAR PRADESH UTTRAKHAND CHINA
Print Email Save
*Map of Himachal Pradesh with districts, railways, rivers and major road network. Disclaimer

Himachal Pradesh Location Map District Map of Himachal Pradesh Cities of Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Tehsil Map
Himachal Pradesh Location MapHimachal Pradesh District MapCities of Himachal PradeshHimachal Pradesh Tehsil Map
Himachal Pradesh Road Network Map Himachal Pradesh Physical Map Himachal Pradesh Rivers Map Himachal Pradesh Travel Map
Himachal Pradesh Road MapHimachal Pradesh Physical MapHimachal Pradesh Railway MapHimachal Pradesh Travel Map

Situated in North India, Himachal Pradesh is a mountainous state. Spread over an area of 55,673 square km. The state comprises a population of 6,864,602 as of 2011. Himachal Pradesh shares its borders with Jammu and Kashmir to the north and northwest, Punjab to the southwest, Haryana and Uttarpradesh to the south and Uttarakhand to the southeast. Shimla is the state capital and other major towns are Dharamshala, Kangra, Mandi, Kullu, Chamba, Hamirpur, Dalhousie and Manali.

History of Himachal Pradesh

The history of Himachal Pradesh dates back to ancient times and was inhabited by tribes such as Dagis, Khasas, Koilis, Halis, Dhaugris, Dasa, Kinnars and Kirats. Around 883 AD some parts of the state were under the control of the king of Kashmir, Sankar Varma. Around 1009 AD, Mahmud of Ghazni invaded the region. Rajputs exercised influence over the region in around 1043. During the time of the Mughals Empire, many kingdoms in the region accepted the authority of the Mughals. By 1804, vast regions of the state passed into the hands of Sikh emperor Maharaja Ranjit Singh. Many regions of the state also witnessed Gurkha rule. The region finally passed into the hands of the British who ruled it till 1947 when it became a part of independent India. In the year 1950, Himachal Pradesh was declared a Union Territory of India. Later on, however, with the passing of Himachal Pradesh Act of 1971, it emerged as the eighteenth state of India. The word 'Hima' actually means snow in Sanskrit terminology. Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma, an eminent Sanskrit Scholar from Himachal Pradesh named the state.

Economy of Himachal Pradesh

The state boasts of numerous picturesque tourist destinations. As such tourism is an important industry and is a major contributor to the economy of the state. Agriculture is also one of the most significant industry contributing to over 45% to the net state domestic product. Textiles and the burgeoning hydroelectric power export industry are the other sources of income for the state. Himachal Pradesh is among those states in India, which has a very per capita income. The state sells hydro electricity power to Punjab, Delhi and Rajasthan.


Himachal Pradesh is located in the western Himalayas with most of it situated in the foothills of the Dhauladhar Range. Reo Purgyil, with a height of 6,816, is the highest peak. Some of the drainage systems located in the state are Chenab, Beas, Ravi, Yamuna and the Sutlej. Forests comprise some 66.52 percent of the state. Himachal Pradesh boasts of a wide variety of species which include approximately 463 bird, 80 fish, 77 mammalian, and some 44 reptile species.

Administration in Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh is divided into 12 districts. The head of each of the districts is a Deputy Commissioner, also known as District Magistrate. For administrative purposes, the districts are further divided into sub-divisions, which are controlled by the sub-divisional magistrates. The sub-divisions are further divided into blocks. Blocks comprise panchayats that is the village councils and town municipalities. The law and order in the district is maintained by the Superintendent of Police.

The twelve Districts of Himachal Pradesh are listed as below

A number of pilgrimage centers and Hindu temples are situated in Himachal Pradesh. There are more than two thousand Temples in Himachal Pradesh. These Himachal Pradesh Temples are also magnificent works of architecture. The temples are the centers of attraction for the visitors and tourists. Many of them are also associated with ancient legends.

  • Naina Devi
  • Jawalmukhi
  • Mata Chintpurni & Chamunda Devi/li>
  • Baijnath & Laxmi Narayan Temple


Himachal Pradesh at a Glance


Himachal Pradesh State Information

Date of formation25. Jan. 1971
GovernorAcharya Dev Vrat
Chief MinisterPrem Kumar Dhumal
Tourist attractionsShimla, Kulu, Manali, Dharamsala
FestivalsPori, Fulaich
Major dance and music formsMala dance, Rakshas Dance
Arts and crafts. Pahari painting is done in the Basohli and Kangra styles; Kullu shawls and woollen caps are famous; the Chamba Rumal has Kangra style paintings embroidered on cloth.
LanguagesHindi, Punjabi, Kinnauri, Pahari
Size55,673 sq. km
RiversRavi, Beas, Chenab, Sutlej, Yamuna
Forests and wildlife sanctuariesPin Valley NP, Greater Himalayan NP, Renuka WS, Chail WS, Kalatope Khajjiar WS
State animalSnow leopard
State birdWestern tragopan
State flowerPink rhododendron
State treeDeodar
Major cropsWheat, rice, maize, barley
FactoidsThe world's oldest democracy is believed to be a tiny, isolated village called Malana.
Shimla was the summer capital of british India.
No. of District 12

Maps in Other Regional Languages

Last Updated on : January 25, 2017



Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share