Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

At present, the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh is Shri Virbhadra Singh. He is a member of the Indian National Congress. This is his sixth term as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. He served in the same position from 1983 to 1990, from 1993 to 1998 and from 2003 to 2007. He once more became the CM of the state on December 30, 2007, replacing Prem Kumar Dhumal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

When was Virbhadra Singh Born?

Born: June 23, 1934.

Spouse of Virbhadra Singh

Smt. Pratibha Singh.

Parents of Virbhadra Singh

Sir Padam Singh and Virbhadra.

Children of Virbhadra Singh

In 1954, Virbhadra Singh married Princess Ratna Kumari. The couple had a son and five daughters of whom four daughters survived. They are Princesses Abhilasha, Anuradha, Jyotsna and Meenakshi. In 1985, Virbhadra Singh married Pratibha Singh with whom he had a son and daughter.

Assembly constituency of Virbhadra Singh

The Assembly Constituency of Virbhadra Singh is Mandi constituency.

Academic career

Virbhadra Singh did his schooling from Colonel Brown Cambridge School in Dehradun and from Bishop Cotton School in Shimla. He did his graduation from St. Stephen's College, Delhi, from where he obtained a BA Honours degree and he further pursued his post-graduation course from Delhi University.

Political career of Virbhadra Singh

Virbhadra Singh was elected as a member of Lok Sabha in 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1980. He was the member of Indian Delegation to the General Assembly of the United Nations in 1976. He was also the Deputy Minister of Tourism Civil Aviation in Government of India from December 1976 to March 1977. From September 1982 to April 1983, Singh was the Minister of State for Industries in Government of India. He was twice elected to the State Legislative Assembly from Jubbal-Kotkhai Constituency.

From April 1983 to March 1990 and from December 1993 to March 1998, Virbhadra Singh was the Chief Minister of the State and from March 1998 to March 2003, he was the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly. He has been appointed as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh five times. On 25th December 2012, Virbhadra Singh was resigned as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh for the sixth time.

Positions held by Virbhadra Singh

Given below are the various positions which Virbhadra Singh occupied at different occasions:

Year Positions Held
1962 Elected to 3rd Lok Sabha.
1962-2007 Member, Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (7 times)
1967 Re-elected to 4th Lok Sabha.
1971 Re-elected to 5th Lok Sabha.
1976-77 Deputy Minister, Tourism and Civil Aviation
1980 Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha
1982-83 Minister of State, Industries
1983-90, 1993-98, 2003 Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh.
1998-2003 Leader of Opposition, Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31 May 2009 - 18 January 2011 Union Cabinet Minister, Steel
19 January 2011 Union Cabinet Minister, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
25 December 2012 Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh.

List of Chief Ministers (CM) of Himachal Pradesh

Sl. No.Name of Chief MinistersFromToParty
1Yashwant Singh ParmarMar 8, 1952Oct 31, 56INC
 State ceased to existOct 31, 1956Jul 1, 63The state was converted into a Union Territory
2Yashwant Singh Parmar[2]Jul 1, 1963Jan 28, 77INC
3Thakur Ram LalJan 28, 1977Apr 30, 77INC
 President's RuleApr 30, 1977Jun 22, 77 
4Shanta KumarJun 22, 1977Feb 14, 80JNP
5Thakur Ram LalFeb 14, 1980Apr 7, 83INC
6Virbhadra SinghApr 8, 1983Mar 8, 85INC
7Virbhadra SinghMar 8, 1985Mar 5, 90INC
8Shanta KumarMar 5, 1990Dec 15, 92BJP
 President's RuleDec 15, 1992Dec 3, 93 
9Virbhadra SinghDec 3, 1993Mar 23, 98INC
10Prem Kumar DhumalMar 24, 1998Mar 5, 03BJP
11Virbhadra SinghMar 6, 2003Dec 30, 07INC
12Prem Kumar DhumalDec 30, 2007Dec 25, 12BJP
13Virbhadra SinghDec 25, 2012PresentINC

Chief Ministers of India

Andhra PradeshJharkhandPondicherry
Arunachal PradeshKarnatakaPunjab
BiharMadhya PradeshSikkim
ChhattisgarhMaharashtraTamil Nadu
GujaratMizoramUttar pradesh
Himachal PradeshOrissaWest Bengal
Jammu Kashmir 

Last Updated on : September 13, 2014



Which State is biggest Jute producer? West Bengal is the largest producer of jute in India. India is the largest producer of jute in the world. Approximately 60 percent of the total world produce of jute is cultivated in India… Read More...
Which State is the Largest Tea producer? Assam is the largest producer of tea in India. India is one of the largest producers of tea in the world, second only to China. India recorded a total production of 1233.14 million… Read More...
Which State is the Largest Mica Producer? Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of mica in India. For over hundred years, India had enjoyed monopoly in production and export of sheet mica in the world. Of late,… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share