Air Sahara, Jetlite

One of India's leading private carriers,


, until recently known as Air Sahara, was established on September 20, 1991. A part of the Sahara India Pariwar which has interests in Public Deposit Mobilization, Media & Entertainment, Housing & Infrastructure, Tourism, Consumer Products and Information Technology, Air Sahara Airlines started its operations on December 3, 1993, with a fleet of two Boeing 737-200 aircraft.

Sahara Airlines was rechristened as Air Sahara on October 2, 2000. It started its international operations on March 22, 2004, with its maiden flight from Chennai to Colombo. Jetlite currently flies to 29 destinations including 5 international destinations with 134 daily direct flights and offers 16,500 seats per day. It flies to major Indian cities like Ahmedabad, Allahabad, Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Coimbatore, New Delhi, Dibrugarh, Goa, Gorakhpur, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, Patna, Port Blair, Pune, Ranchi, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram, Varanasi and Visakhapatnam besides foreign destinations like Colombo, Karachi, Kathmandu, Kuala Lumpur, Maldives, Singapore.

Go Air Locations in India Map

Jetlite currently has a fleet of 27 aircrafts that include Boeing 767, Boeing 737-800, Boeing 737-700, Boeing 737-400, Boeing 737-300 and CRJ -200. Jetlite also has chartered helicopter flights from metropolitan Delhi & Mumbai.

Main base of Jetlite (Air Sahara) is Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi, with hubs at Begumpet Airport, Hyderabad; Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Mumbai; Chennai International Airport, Chennai; and Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata.

In April 2007, Air Sahara was bought over by Jet Airways for 14.5 billion rupees ($340 million). The deal is expected to give Jet Airways a combined domestic market share of about 32%. Though there were long-drawn negotiations between Jet and Sahara airlines over the buy-out of Air Sahara lndia and the matter even reached the courts, finally a deal was sealed amicably. It was announced that Air Sahara will be renamed as Jetlite.

Last Updated on 03 October 2011


  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations