IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

Cricket Stadiums in India

Cricket is undoubtedly the most popular sport in India. For most people in India cricket is equivalent to religion, love and life. The association of cricket with India is like the association of football with Brazil. People in India are both passionate and sentimental about the game of cricket.

The importance of the game is epitomized by the many top class Cricket stadiums in India. Spread across every corner in India the many cricket stadiums in the country are proof to the fact that cricket is the Numero Uno sport of India.

All the Cricket stadiums in India are administered by the various Cricket associations in the different states along with guidance of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). All the cricket grounds in the country are constructed keeping in mind the rules and regulations laid down by the International Cricket Council (ICC). According to the International Cricket Council there are three most important things that should be kept in mind before constructing a cricket ground; namely 1) the length and width of the Cricket ground, 2) proper practice and training facilities for the cricketers and 3) proper seating arrangement for the spectators.

The existence of the first cricket stadium in India dates back to 1864. Eden Gardens in Kolkata one of the most popular cricket grounds in the country happens to be the first official cricket stadium of the country. The stadium even today is believed to be one of the most beautiful and largest cricket grounds in the world. The stadium is also fondly termed as the Lord`s of Asia. Eden Garden hosted its first one day match in the year 1917 and its first Test match in the year 1934. Eden Gardens has a seating capacity of almost 100,000 spectators. The stadium is managed by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB). It is equipped with the best of cricketing facilities.

Most of the Indian cricket stadiums have recently been renovated to host the 2011 World Cup.

List of Cricket Stadiums in India

Below is a list of the important Cricket Stadiums in India :
  • Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
  • Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi
  • Gandhi Sports Complex Ground, Amritsar
  • Indira Gandhi Stadium, Vijayawada
  • Indira Priyadarshini Stadium, Visakhapatnam
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi
  • Gandhi Stadium, Jalandhar
  • Green Park, Kanpur
  • Gymkhana Ground, Mumbai
  • Nehru Stadium, Kochi
  • Nehru Stadium, Margao, Goa
  • Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
  • Barkatullah Khan Stadium, Jodhpur
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground (old), Nagpur
  • Nehru Stadium, Guwahati
  • Nehru Stadium, Chennai
  • Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground, Rajkot
  • Moin-ul-Haq Stadium, Patna
  • Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior
  • Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  • ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam
  • Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
  • Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
  • K. D. Singh 'Babu' Stadium, Lucknow
  • Keenan Stadium, Jamshedpur
  • Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
  • MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Moti Bagh Stadium, Baroda
  • Nahar Singh Stadium, Faridabad
  • Nehru Stadium, Indore
  • Nehru Stadium, Pune
  • Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Chandigarh
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
  • University Ground, Lucknow
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
  • Reliance Stadium, Baroda
  • Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
  • Sector 16 Stadium, Chandigarh
  • Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium, Srinagar
  • University Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Last Updated on 14 September 2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations