Politics & Government of Lakshadweep

Politics & government of Lakshadweep is dependent on the various bodies functioning in accordance to the government of the union territory. Lakshadweep is the smallest union territory of India. It is an archipelago consisting of thirty six islands. But people have settled in only ten of them.

Lakshadweep elects only one member to the Lok Sabha. Lakshadweep (ST) is the only one Parliamentary constituency in Lakshadweep and is governed by an administrator appointed by the President of India. The current administrator is H. Rajesh Prasad. He has power as Inspector General of Lakshadweep Police receiving command and control of the Lakshadweep Police.

Ten sub-divisions have been made of the territory. In the Minicoy and Agatti islands the sub division is under a deputy collector while in the rest of the 8 islands, all development activities are coordinated by the sub divisional officers. The Collector who is also the District Magistrate and the Development Commissioner supervises all matters which come under the district administration. The District Magistrate is supported by 1 additional District Magistrate and 10 executive Magistrates regarding enforcement of law and order.

Executive of Lakshadweep

The district headquarter of this union territory is Kavaratti. The executive of Lakshadweep comprises of the head of Lakshadweep, a union territory of India. Till date, there have been 31 administrators appointed in the Executive of Lakshadweep. The first administrator of the union territory was U.R. Panicker. He was appointed on 1st November in 1956 and remained in office for only seven days. He was succeeded by S. Mony. The active Administrator of Lakshadweep is Mr. H. Rajesh Prasad. He was appointed on 7 November 2012 and is the 31st administrator of Lakshadweep.

Judiciary of Lakshadweep

Judiciary of Lakshadweep is an important organ of government of Lakshadweep. The work relating to judiciary is carried on from the three courts in Lakshadweep. There is Munsiff-Magistrate Court in Amini and Androth. There is District and Sessions Court located in Kavaratti. The High Court located in Ernaculam of Kerala, also functions as the High Court of Lakshadweep.

The area of jurisdiction under District and Sessions court of Lakshadweep is the islands of the union territory. This court is the Principle civil court. The District and Sessions court started functioning from 1997. Before this court was set up, the District and Session Court of Kerala used to be Lakshadweep's district court. The Sub Jud-Cum-Chief Judicial Magistrate Court located in Kavaratti was upgraded to function as a District and Sessions Court. This court is an important part of the Judiciary of Lakshadweep.

The Munsiff Court of Androth was set up to deal with the civil matters arising in Androth, Minicoy, Kavaratti and Kalpeni islands of Lakshadweep. The Munsiff of this court is given the power to function as Lakshadweep's Chief Judicial Magistrate. The Munsiff Court of Amini was set up in 1967. The islands of Lakshadweep that fall under its jurisdiction are Amini, Kilthan, Chethlath, Kadmath, Agathi and Bitra. The Munasiff of this court like the Munasiff of Court of Androth is given powers of the Judicial Magistrate of First Class.

One of the main pillars of Judiciary of Lakshadweep is the High Court of Kerala. It was established in 1956. There is a Chief Justice and few judges to assist him. The Chief Justice is vested with the power to distribute work of the court. The jurisdiction of the High Court is divided into Appellate and Original.

Government Departments

The Lakshadweep government departments are set up for better functioning of the union territory. Government of Lakshadweep, is divided into a number of departments. Some of the important ones are discussed here.

The Department of Electricity supplies power to the consumers residing in the islands of Lakshadweep. This department is highly aware of the conservation of power. They use solar power for various purposes. The Department of Environment is an independent department. They take certain measures for conservation of the available natural resources of the island. One of the most important resources of Lakshadweep is its fishes. The economy of the union territory mainly depends on fishery. There are many small scale industries in Lakshadweep. The Department of Industries looks after the well being of these industries and supports the local people. The Department of Labour and Labour Welfare helps the local people to secure employments. The Department of Legal Metrology takes care of the laws related to consumer welfare. The Medical and Health Department of Lakshadweep offers medical and doctor facilities to the local people. They also take action during certain crisis in the islands, such as spreading of an epidemic.

Some of the other important Lakshadweep government departments are PWD, Port and Revenue. The Department of Panchayat plays an important role in the rural development in the territory.

The education system in Lakshadweep is sound though the courses in the college level are yet to commence. The Department of Education also has programs for spreading literacy in the union territory. The Department for Social Welfare looks after the cultural improvement of the islands. The Lakshadweep Government Departments looks after the well being of the people of Lakshadweep.


Last Updated on : October 21, 2014