BRIC Countries Map

Click on the Map to get Bigger Map

Map of BRIC Countries

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Map of BRIC Countries
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*The Map showing the BRIC Countries in the World. Disclaimer

BRIC is an acronym that refers to the countries of Brazil Russia, India and China which are accounted to be countries at a similar stage of newly advanced economies. These countries are also referred to as the "Big Four". The acronym was coined in 2001 by Jim O'Neill in a paper entitled" Building Better Economic Bric's". Over time the acronym has come into widespread usage as an emblem of the shift in global economic power away from the developed G7 economies towards the developing world. It has been estimated that the BRIC economies will overtake the G 7 economies by the year 2027.

According to a paper published in 2005, Mexico and South Korea were the only other countries comparable to the BRIC's, but their economies were excluded because they were considered already more developed as they were already members of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).

Several more developed of the N-11 countries; Turkey, Mexico, Nigeria and Indonesia in particular are seen as the most likely contenders to join BRIC. Some other countries that are yet to reach the N-11 economic status, such as South Africa aspire to be part of the BRIC nations. Jim O'Neill told the summit that South Africa, at a population less than 50 million, was too small an economy to join the BRIC ranks.

Last Updated on : 22 November 2011



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations