BRICS Countries Map

Click on the Map to get Bigger Map

Map of BRICS Countries

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Map of BRICS Countries
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*The Map showing the BRICS Countries in the World Map Disclaimer

BRICS is an international political organization of leading, emerging economies, resulting from the inclusion of South Africa into the BRIC group in 2010. The BRICS forum, an independent organization, encouraging commercial cooperation between the BRICS nations was founded in 2011. As of then, the five members are Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. With the exclusion of Russia the BRICS members are all developing or newly developed industrial countries, recognized by their large economies and significant influence in regional and global matters.

As of 2011, the five BRICS countries represent roughly one third of the world's total population, with a combined nominal GDP of US $ 13.6 Trillion and as estimated US $ 4 Trillion in combined foreign reserves.

The foreign ministers of the BRICS nations met in New York in September 2006, beginning a series of high level meetings. A large scale diplomatic meeting was held in Yekaterinburg, Russia, on May 16, 2008.

In 2010, South Africa began an effort to join the BRIC group, and the process for its formal admission began in the August of 2010. On December 24th 2010, South Africa officially became a member nation, after being formally invited by China and other BRIC nations.

Hence, the group was renamed BRICS-with the S standing for South Africa, denoting the group's extended membership. In April 2011, South African president, Jacob Zuma attended the 2011 summit in China, as a member.

The heads of the BRICS nations met in New Delhi on 29th March 2012. The prime motive of the meeting will be discussions on the feasibility of creating the BRICS Bank that will help the countries in funding development projects. The list of the VIP's attending the event included Presidents Dilma Rousseff of Brazil, Dmitry Medvedev of Russia, Hu Jintao of China and Jacob Zuma of South Africa, as well as Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. With the meeting of the BRICS countries, it is expected that the trade relations between these countries will strengthen even more. The ever strained relations between India and China could have been one of the topics of discussion. The monetary policies of the US and Europe resulting in fall in the value of currency of some of the BRICS Countries may also be a topic of debate.

Last Updated on : 3/29/2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations