Home   »   Politics   »   List of All Prime Ministers of India Till Now

List of All Prime Ministers of India Till Now

Published on: November 14, 2018 | Updated on: August 28, 2019

List of All Prime Ministers of India

Overview of All Prime Ministers of India

Since Independence, India has seen 14 full time Prime Ministers. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress was the first Prime Minister (PM) of free India. Gulzarilal Nanda was appointed as the acting PM for two short periods in 1964 and 1966. At present, the office is headed by Mr. Narendra Modi of the BJP. He was the 15th PM elected in 2014, to the post vacated by Dr. Manmohan Singh of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA). Narendra Modi continues as the PM of India from May 30, 2019 onward, after BJP and its allies notched a landslide victory in the general elections held across the country in April and May, 2019.

List of All Prime Ministers of India in the chronological order:

S.No. Name Birth-Death Tenure Interesting Facts
1 Jawahar Lal Nehru (1889–1964) 15 August 1947-27 May 1964
16 years, 286 days.
First and the longest serving prime minister of the independent India. First serving PM who died in office.
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (1898–1998) 27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964
13 days.
First acting PM of
the country, took charge after the untimely death of Nehru.
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904–1966) 9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966
1 year, 216 days.
He was the pioneer of the slogan ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during Indo-Pak war in 1965.
4 Gulzarilal Nanda (1898-1998) 11 January 1966, 24 January 1966
13 days.
Only man who
served twice as an acting PM of India.
5 Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977
11 years, 59 days.
First lady who took oath as the Prime Minister of India.
6 Morarji Desai (1896–1995) 24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979
2 year, 126 days.
First PM after the emergency in 1977. The oldest PM of India took oath at the age of 81, first to resign from office.He was born on 29th February, so he used to celebrate his birthday once in a four-year.
7 Charan Singh (1902–1987) 28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980
170 days.
Only PM who never faced the Parliament.
8 Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 14 Jan.1980 to 31 Oct. 1984
4 years, 291 days.
First PM who came back in power in
1980 after 1977 debacle. Like father she also died in
9 Rajiv Gandhi (1944–1991) 31 Oct 1984 to 2 Dec 1989
5 years, 32 days.
He became the youngest PM of India
at the age of 40.
10 V. P. Singh (1931–2008) 2 Dec 1989 to 10 Nov 1990
343 days.
First PM who resigned after vote of no confidence.
11 Chandra Shekhar (1927–2007) 10 Nov 1990 to 21 June 1991
223 days.
He never worked as a minister in any ministry.
12 P. V. Narasimha Rao (1921–2004) 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996, 4 years, 330 days. He was from Andhra Pradesh and became the first South Indian PM of the country.
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924-2018) 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996
16 days.
PM for just 16 days shortest tenure of any Indian PM.
14 H. D. Deve Gowda (born 1933) 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997
324 days.
 He became the
second PM of South India.
He is from Karnataka.
15  Inder Kumar Gujral  (1919–2012)  21 April 1997 to 19 March, 1998
332 days.
 Third PM to be
from the Upper House after Indra Gandhi & Deve Gowda.
16  Atal Bihari Vajpayee  (born 1924-2018) 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004
6 years, 64 days.
 First non-congress
PM of independent India who completed his full term as PM.
17  Manmohan Singh  (born 1932) 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014
10 years, 4 days.
 First PM from the minority community.
18 Narendra Modi (born 1950)  2014-Present Before Modi, three
PMs served two terms or more. He has also joined
this coveted list in 2019.


Given are the details of all Prime Ministers of India tenure since independence:

Article Name
List of All Prime Ministers of India Till Now
List of Indian Prime Ministers (PM) from 1947 to till now - History of Prime Minister of India with Office tenure, working period and Party Details. How many prime ministers of India till date?


I am a mother. A wife. And daughter of my loving parents by heart with passion for creativity, zeal to achieve something big in life but want to live life to its fullest.


Showing 1 Comments :
Adichamp pandey July 6, 2018 at 6:16 am


EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations