Agriculture in Nagpur

Like most of the places in India, agriculture in Nagpur also contributes significantly to the economy of the city. The principle crops that are abundantly grown in the city of Nagpur include sugarcane, wheat, soya bean, pulses, mung, wheat, gram, jowar, bajra, linseed, cotton, groundnut, sunflower, tur and others.

Agriculture in Nagpur received a much-needed lift when there was an increase in the cropped area. This was the result of a decrease in the number of fallow land. Another reason was the increase in the portion of the cultivable land.

The crops of Nagpur can be broadly categorized into two groups known as Kharif and Rabi. The Kharif crops include the following:-

  • Sugarcane: This is chiefly grown abundantly the month of November and is generally marketed in Nagpur.

  • Mung: This variety of pulse is cultivated from the month of June to the month of October.

  • Soya Bean: Cultivated from the months of June to the month of October along with the other varieties of the Kharif crops which include Cotton, Groundnut, Sesamum, Sunflower and Soya Bean.

The other variety of crops grown in Nagpur is Rabi, which include:-
  • Gram: Principally cultivated from the month of September to the month of February.
  • Linseed: Cultivation of this particular crop commences from the month of September to the month of January.
  • Sesamum and Jowar are also extensively cultivated during this time of the year.
The major plantations of Nagpur include the extremely tasty and luscious citrus fruit, orange. Soya bean is considered to be the chief cash crop of Nagpur.

Last Updated on 9/26/2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations