Orissa Education

Orissa education comprises of the schools, colleges, universities and technical institutes housed within the territory. The schools of Orissa form an integral part of the education system of Orissa. It provides primary and secondary education to the students of Orissa. The colleges and universities of Orissa helps the students to opt for higher degrees.

The average literacy rate in Orissa is 63.08% (according to the research in 2001). It is estimated that about 75.95% of men and about 50.15% of women are literate in Orissa. Besides, there are about 44,416 primary schools in Orissa where about 52.54 students are enrolled. In Orissa, one can come across a school at an interval of 3.5 square kilometers.

Secondary education in Orissa falls under the Board of Secondary Education. A study reveals that there were about 7,011 schools in Orissa during 2003-04. It is evident that there were 3,556 Government High Schools and 657 Government Aided Schools in Orissa. The research also reveals that there was a high school in every 22.2 square kilometers.

Besides, we can come across 4 Government Training Colleges, 6 Teachers Education Colleges and 3 Institutes of Advanced Study in Education in Orissa. The state contains about 9 universities. Utkal University, Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Sambhalpur University, Utkal University of Culture, Sri Jagannath Sanskrit University, etc. are some of the famous universities housed in the territory of Orissa.

Orissa Schools

Orissa schools take care of the primary and secondary education of the territory. Orissa possesses about 44,416 primary schools with 97 lakh teachers, according to a survey in 2003-04. It is estimated that one can come across one primary school at every 3.5 square kilometers.

In order to promote education in Orissa, the government of Orissa has initiated Mid-day Meal Programme. The Mid-day Meal Programme, which is operating since 1995, has largely worked towards proliferating the education system of Orissa. It is said that about 46.32 lakh children were brought to 51,931 schools under this scheme. The dropout rate has also decreased in Orissa. There was a decrease of about 1.5% in the dropout rates of 2002-03 and 2003-04.

Orissa Colleges

Orissa colleges provides facilities for higher education within the territory. It is said that about 1,112 General Colleges and 48 Government Colleges provide opportunities for higher studies in Orissa. According to the survey of 2003-04, there are about 1,679 General Colleges in Orissa. Out of the 1,679 General Colleges in Orissa, 601 are Government aided colleges; whereas, 96 are Government Colleges.

One can across a large number of colleges in Orissa that enables the students to continue their higher studies within the state. Colleges at Orissa comprise of Dental colleges, Ayurvedic colleges, Homeopathy colleges, Nursing colleges, Medical colleges, Architecture colleges, Veterinary colleges, Physiotherapy colleges, etc. These colleges keeps the students abreast with the latest technologies and thus strengthen their future prospects.

Some of the famous colleges of Orissa are:
  • Ajay Binay Institute of Technology
  • Dr Abhin Chandra Homeopathic Medical College and Hospital
  • Kaviraj Ananta Tripathy Sharma Ayurved Mahavidyalaya
  • College of Nurisng
  • Balasore College of Engineering and Technology
  • Mayurbhanj Homeopathic Medical College and Hospital
  • College of Engineering and Technology
  • C V Raman College of Engineering
  • National Institute of Rehabilitation Training and Research
  • Jaydev College Of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • SUM Nursing School
  • Gandhi Institute For Technological Advancement
  • College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry
  • Piloo-Mody College of Architecture Ajay-Binay Institute of Technology
  • Gopabandhu Ayurved Mahavidyalaya
  • Institute of Medical Technology Pharmacy College

University of Orissa

An estimate of the major universities at Orissa is given below:

  • North Orissa University:
    • Location - Shri Ram Chandra Vihar Takatpur, Baripada District Mayurbhanj, Orissa - 757003 .
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof Biranchi Narayan Puhan.
    • Registrar - Dr H P Pande.
    • Courses offered - Bio-informatics.

  • Berhampur University:
    • Location - Bhanja Bihar District Ganjam Berhampur, Orissa - 760 007.
    • Vice Chancellor - Dr Arun K Panda.
    • Registrar - Sri G N Sahoo.
    • Courses offered - Chemistry, Boitechnology, Economics, Business Administration, English and Foreign Languages, Commerce, Home Science, Law, Mass Communication, etc.

  • Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology:
    • Location - Bhubaneswar, Orissa - 751003.
    • Vice Chancellor - Dr Bhagirathi Senapati.
    • Registrar - Shri Bijoy Kumar Parida.

  • Ravenshaw University:
    • Location - Cuttak, Orissa - 3.
    • Vice Chancellor - Devdas Chhotray.
    • Registrar - Dr Satyakam Mishra.

  • Biju Patnaik University of Technology:
    • Location - Rourkela, Orissa.

  • Kalinga Insitute of Industrial Technology:
    • Location - Bhubaneswar.
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof S C De Sarkar.
    • Registrar - Dr R N Roy.
    • Courses offered - Business Administration, Life Science, Linguistics, Mass communication, Zoology, Political Science, etc.

  • National Institute of Technology:
    • Location - Rourkela, Orissa - 769008.
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof Sunil Kumar Sarangi.
    • Registrar - Shri S K Upadhyay.
    • Courses offered - Chemical Engineering, Ceramic Engineering, Electronics and Electrical Engineering, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, etc.

  • Shri Jagannath Sanskrit Vishvavidyalaya:
    • Location - Srivihar, Puri, Orissa - 752003.
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof A C Sarangi.
    • Registrar - Dr B C Pattnayak.
    • Courses offered - Sanskrit.

  • Utkal University:
    • Location - Vani Vihar, Bhubaneswar, Orissa.
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof L N Mishra.
    • Registrar - Sri B K Mohanty.
    • Courses offered - Aquaculture, Botany, Geography, History, Personnel Management and Industrial Relations, Women Studies, Psychology, etc.

  • Fakir Mohan University:
    • Location - Vyas Vihar Balasore, Orissa - 756019.
    • Vice Chancellor - Prof Sukhdev Nanda.
    • Registrar - Dr A K Panda.

  • Sambalpur University:
    • Location - Jyoti Vihar Burla, Sambalpur, Orissa - 768 019.
    • Vice Chancellor - Dr P C Tripathy.
    • Registrar - Prof R R Padhee.
    • Courses offered - Anthropology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Library Information Science, Mathematics, Oriya, etc.

  • Utkal University of Culture:
    • Location - P B No. 4, Sardar Patel Hall Complex Unit 2, Bhubaneswar, Orissa - 751009.
    • Vice Chancellor - Dr Sadhu Charan Panda.
    • Registrar - Sri Bala Krishna Behera.

Last Updated on : 30th March 2013