District Map of Odisha

District Map of Orissa

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Orissa Puri Jagatsinghpur Mayurbhanj Baleshwar Kendujargarh Sundargarh Deogarh Bhadrak Sambalpur Jharsuguda Angul Jajpur Kendrapara Cuttack Dhenkanal Khortha Nayagarh Bauda Bargarh Ganjam Kandhamal Balangir Subarnpur Nuapada Kalahandi Rayagada Gajapati Koraput Nabarangapur Malkangiri ANDHRA PRADESH ANDHRA PRADESH CHHATTISGARH JHARKHAND WEST BENGAL
Print Email Save
* Map showing all the districts of Odisha with boundaries. Disclaimer

Extending from the evergreen Eastern Ghats to the bio-diverse coastal plains, Odisha (formerly known as Orissa/ Kalinga in 261 BC) is renowned for its rich cultural heritage, glorious coastline, wonderful nature reserves, classical dance forms, and historical monuments.

Odisha is located on the eastern coast of India, bounded by the Bay of Bengal, sharing its western border with Madhya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh on the South. The region was under the rule of Emperor Ashoka of the Maurya dynasty in 261 BC and known as the kingdom of Kalinga. The modern state of Odisha comprises of an area of 155,707 square kilometres, Odisha has a population of approximately 4.2 crores as per2011 census. The population density is 269 per sq km while the literacy rate is 73 percent.

Nearly three quarters of the area is replete with mountains and rivers (Subarnarekha, Budhabalanga, Indirabati, Kolab,, Nagabali, Bansadhara, Bahuda, Baitarani, Brahmani, Mahandi, Salandi, and Rushikulya) make their way into the Bay of Bengal through Odisha. The state capital Bhubaneswar is known as the "Temple City of India".

Districts and Administration of Odisha

The state has 30 Districts and each district is governed by a District Magistrate who is appointed by the Odisha Administrative Services or the Indian Administrative Services. Each district is split into sub divisions. These sub divisions are further divided into blocks and blocks into town municipalities and village panchayats. As per 2011 census, Mayurbhanj is the largest district in Odisha while Ganjam is the most populous district.

Tourism in Odisha

Though Odisha lacks iconic tourist attractions like in North India, the state is gaining popularity as an offbeat travel destination. The state has very diverse topography, right from the Eastern Ghats to a fertile river basin, which is a suitable habitat for native flora and fauna. Mountain springs and hot-springs abound in Odisha and most of the rivers have waterfalls - either at the point of origin or over the mountainous bed. The Chillika, a salt water lake is spread over three districts; Puri, Khurda and Ganjam. The Ansupa, a sweet water lake lies in Cuttak district.

The state is noted principally for religious attractions such as the Lingaraja Temple in Bhubaneswar, the Jagannath Temple in Puri and the Sun Temple in Konark. Other famous tourist attractions in Odisha are: Puri beach, Chillika Lake, Bhitarkanika Sanctuary, Simlipal National Park, and Udayagiri and Khandagiri Caves.

List of Districts in Orissa

S No.DistrictHeadquartersPopulation (Census 2011)Sex Ratio (per 1000)Average Literacy

Maps in Other Regional Languages

Last Updated on : August 1, 2017



Which Are The Worst Polluted Indian Cities? India for years has been striving to improve its air quality in urban areas, which takes a massive toll on the health of millions of its residents. Every year, a number of its cities… Read More...
Which state of India has given maximum number of Indian cricket captains? The state of Maharashtra has seen the maximum number of players went onto represent India. Maharashtra has been a home to many famous Bollywood celebrities but this state… Read More...
Which State Has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers? Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers. There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh… Read More...

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations