Punjab Local Self Government

The functioning of a Government can be categorized into National, State and Local. Local Self- Governments are those bodies that look after the administration of a area or small community such as village, town or a city. These bodies are appointed by the Government representing the local inhabitants, which raises its revenue partially through local taxation and other means. . The Local Self- Government can be divided into various classes like Corporations, Cities, Town Municipalities and Town Panchayats on the basis of population.

The Local Self Government is entitled to discharge certain compulsory functions like:

  • Supplying safe and clean drinking water
  • Imparting and maintaining proper drainage and sewage systems
  • Providing public street lighting
  • To keep up sanitation and hygiene of public places
  • Building and maintenance of bus terminals, roads, culverts and bridges
    • Preservation of public parks and gardens
    • To make sure that the urban or rural growth is systematic and planned
    • Preparing guidelines for building construction
    • Issuing Licenses for Trade activities
    • Issuing and maintaining Birth and Death records
    Apart from these the Local Self Government can deliver some discretionary functions including educational, health, community and recreational services etc.

    In order to deliver the above duties, the Local Self Government have been given certain powers to earn revenues by levying certain taxes and fees. In addition to it, the State Government also transfers some of its general revenues to the Local Self Government. Their main sources of is from taxes on construction and lands, taxes levied on people for water supply, and fee from trade license.

    The Local Self Government of Punjab cannot be said to be very developed like the states of Karnataka or Maharashtra.

    Following are the divisions of Local Self Government in Punjab:
    • Municipal Administration

    • Panchayats

    Last Updated on : 25/06/2013



    Which Indian state is the largest producer of bauxite?The state of Odisha is the largest producer of bauxite in India. India has abundant resources of bauxite and serves as a raw material in the production of aluminium. As per the report of the Ministry of Mines, India stood at the 7th position in… Read More...
    Which Indian city is famously known as the "Manchester City of India"?The city of Ahmedabad in the Gujarat state is famously known as the "Manchester City of India". This name was given to this city by a popular textile center in the Manchester of Great Britain, adhering to the striking similarities of Ahmedabad's prospering cotton textile… Read More...
    Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...

    EU GDPR Update:
    MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
    We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations