Mumbai Pune Expressway

Map of Mumbai Pune Expressway

Map of Mumbai Pune Expressway
Email   Buy Now
*The Map showing the Routes of Mumbai Pune Expressway

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

The Mumbai Pune Expressway , India's first six-lane tolled expressway, became fully operational in 2002.The expressway officially called the Yashwantrao Chavan Mumbai Pune Expressway connects the financial capital of the country, Mumbai, which is also the capital of Maharashtra, with Pune, an important educational and industrial city in the state.
Before the expressway was built, national highway 4 was the preferred road between the two cities. But, as the traffic density became high on this stretch, the road became congested and the travelling time also increased.

The Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC) developed the new Expressway between the cities. The 93 kilometer long concrete expressway starts at Panvel and ends at Dehu Road near Pune. It has a dual carriageway with three lanes each. No two or three wheelers are permitted on the expressway and nor are agricultural tractors as the speed limit is 80 to 120 kmph. This was first high speed expressway in the country and because of its features reduced the travelling time between Pune and Mumbai to two hours. As the scenic hill towns of Khandala and Lonavla fall on the route, the travelling time to these very popular weekend getaways from Mumbai and Pune has also been reduced.

The expressway has frequently been cited as one of the best in the country for high speed driving as it has long straight stretches, and insulation from stray cattle with a barbed metal wire barrier on either side of it. It also goes through a scenic route on the Sahyadris on the Western Ghats, cutting through five illuminated tunnels. The tunnels are at Bhatan, Madap, Adoshi (only while coming from Pune), Khandala and Kamshet. The interchanges are at Shedung, Khalapur, Talegaon , and Kusgaon. The toll plazas are at Khalapur while going to Pune and at Talegaon while going to Mumbai.

Last Updated on : 06 April 2013




Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations