Thanjavur to Darasuram

A tour from Thanjavur to Darasuram is one of the major trips that are often planned by the tourists who come to visit Thanjavur. The tourists who have a special affinity for the religious structures associated with the religion of Hinduism should not miss the opportunity of visiting this place.

The most significant attraction of Darasuram is the Airavatesvara Temple. The Airavatesvara Temple is located at a distance of about 3 kms towards the south-west of another popular tourist destination called Kumbakonam.

The Airavatesvara Temple was established by Raja Raja II in the period from 1146 to 1163 AD. This temple is considered very pious by the devotees of the Hindu religion. Many Hindu pilgrims from across the country come to visit this temple ona trip to Darasuram.

Other than religious reasons, the Airavatesvara Temple is also very popular because of the architectural expertise reflected in the entire structure of the temple.

This religious place of Darasuram also has a lot of historical importance. It is one of the oldest Chola temples. The Airavatesvara Temple was set up to pay homage to Airavatesvarar or Linga. Devendran's elephant called Airavatham used to worship Linga. The temple has got its name from this association. This temple, being the major crowd-puller of the region, has been renovated by the Archaeological Survey of India.

Another temple has been established in the region called the Amman temple. This temple is meant for the worship of Goddess Deivanayagi Amman.

To travel to Darasuram one can avail the railway station of the place, which is situated on the Thanjavur- Madras route.

Last Updated on 06 December 2011



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations