Delhi Government

The Delhi Government plays a significant role in looking after the social wellbeing of all citizens residing in the capital city. The former Chief Minister of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal was of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), who defeated Sheila Dikshit of the Congress party in the 2013 Assembly elections.

The Delhi State Assembly was formed on March 17, 1952, which was constituted under the 1951 Government of Part C States Acts. On September 1966 the set up underwent a change; a Metropolitan Council was established, which included 56 members who were elected and 5 other nominated members. Later on the council was substituted by the Legislative Assembly of Delhi through Indian Constitution's 69th Amendment in 1991.

Ministers of Delhi Government

The ministers of Delhi will be announced after the formation of the next government. The last government was that of the Aam Aadmi Party, which resigned on 14 February 2014.

Delhi Government Departments

Delhi Government comprises of different departments. These departments cater to the needs of all Delhites. Some of these departments are:
  • Economics and Statistics Department
  • Art, Culture and Language Department, Delhi
  • Directorate of Education, Delhi
  • Chit Fund Department, Delhi
  • Environment Department, Delhi
  • Development Department, Delhi
  • Excise, Entertainment and Luxury Tax Department, Delhi
  • Directorate of Prevention of Food Adulteration, Delhi
  • Directorate of Higher Education, Delhi
  • Public Works Department, Delhi
  • Land and Building Department, Delhi
  • Industries Department, Delhi

Political Parties of Delhi

Delhi Political Parties play an important role in the governmental system of the country. All major political parties have their head office located in Delhi, which is the capital city of India. In India, multi party system is followed.

Some of the political parties of Delhi are: Aam, Aadmi Party, Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Shiromoni Akali Dal, Rastriya Janata Dal, Communist party of India and Nationalist Congress Party. Besides, national parties, regional parties also maintain their office in Delhi as these small parties plays an important role in today's coalition politics.

Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi

The AAP had been successful in effectively rewriting the history of elections, becoming the only party to reach the post of Chief Minister on its very first attempt. Arvind Kejriwal became an overnight sensation as he promised sweeping reforms and a clean political atmosphere under his leadership.

Bharatiya Janata Party in Delhi

The BJP, once the dominant party in Delhi, over time lost to the success and popularity of the Congress's candidate Sheila Dikshit. The 2013 election presented a brilliant opportunity for comeback, but the party was halted by the rapid rise of the Aam Aadmi Party. Consequently, the BJP could gain only 32 seats, four short of majority.

Indian National Congress in Delhi

Having ruled the city of Delhi for three consecutive terms, the Indian National Congress faced severe defeat in the 2013 election. The party could secure only eight of the 70 Assembly seats, while Sheila Dikshit, the three-time Chief Minister, lost from her constituency.

Bahujan Samaj Party in Delhi

Bahujan Samaj Party in Delhi was formed mainly to represent the Dalits or the untouchables of the Indian society and its political ideology is Dalit Socialism. The Bahujan Samaj party's symbol is elephant.

Municipal Corporation of Delhi

Municipal Corporation of Delhi was formed through an Act of Parliament in the year 1958. The total area of function of Municipal Corporation of Delhi is categorized under 12 different sections. The functional zones of Municipal Corporation of Delhi are as follows:
  • South
  • City
  • West
  • Central
  • Rohini
  • Najafgarh
  • Karol Bagh
  • Civil liners
  • Sadar Paharganj
  • Shahdara South
  • Shahdara North
  • Narela

Operating as a prime branch of Delhi Government, the Municipal Corporation supervises the various civic issues of the rural as well as urban parts of the city. One of the main identities of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi is that it is one of the largest such bodies with respect to area.

Delhi Chief Minister

The 7th Chief Minister of Delhi was Arvind Kejriwal, whose government lasted 50 days, from 28 December 2014 to 14 February 2014. The next Chief Minister will be announced after the new government is formed.

Last Updated on : February 17, 2014