Track Your Constituency

Delhi General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Delhi General Election Results

Map of Delhi Parliamentary Constituencies

Delhi Parliamentary Constituencies North west Delhi North east delhi West Delhi Chandni-chowk East delhi South delhi New-delhi
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Delhi State. Disclaimer

Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Delhi is the National Capital Territory of India. It is the largest Indian city and the second most populous city in the world. It is also the most densely populated region in the country. Delhi and its adjoining urban areas have been given the status of the National Capital Region (NCR).

Delhi became the capital of British India in 1911, when the British shifted its capital from Calcutta. After India's independence, it was officially declared the capital of India in 1947. At present, Delhi enjoys the status of a Union Territory (UT) and has its own state legislature and is the only Union Territory with a High Court of its own.

Representation at the Centre

The NCT of Delhi has seven Lok Sabha constituencies which is the highest among other UTs. These are Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, East Delhi, New Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi and North West Delhi. The North West Delhi constituency is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC). There is no reservation for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates.

Delhi sends three members to the Rajya Sabha. The state legislature is unicameral and has 70 members.

Political Parties

The main political parties in Delhi are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
Some important regional and state parties active in Delhi are:
  • Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
  • Communist Party of India (CPI)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
  • Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)
Delhi Election History

According to the latest election update on Delhi, the INC has been the most dominant party in the political history of Delhi. In 1956, the Delhi legislative assembly was abolished and Delhi was directly brought under central rule. In 1993, the state was re-established. Congress had a stronghold over the state till the 1993 elections brought the BJP to power. In its tenure till 1998, BJP gave Delhi three Chief Ministers, Madan Lal Khurana, Sahib Singh Verma and Sushma Swaraj. In 1998, again INC led by Sheila Dixit formed the government. In the 2015 assembly elections, however, anti-incumbency and pro-Kejriwal wave swept across Delhi and INC was reduced to just eight seats. The Aam Aadmi Party led by Arvind Kejriwal came to power with external support from the INC.

In the elections to the Lok Sabha, INC won most seats in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd elections. In the fourth Lok Sabha elections held in 1967, the Bharatiya Jan Sangh (BJS) was the leading party. INC won all the constituencies in the 1971 and 1984 elections, but in the 1977 elections the Bharatiya Lok Dal (BLD) emerged as the largest party in Delhi. In the Lok Sabha elections in Delhi, BJP has seen huge success. It became the leading party for the first time in the 1989 elections and retained that position in the 1991, 1996, 1998 and 1999 elections. But its performance plummeted in the 2004 and 2009 elections, while INC became the leading party. In 2014, BJP won with big margin.

Prominent Political Personalities

Prominent Political Personalities:
  • Ashish Khetan : He is a noted investigative journalist, and was an AAP candidate from New Delhi. This was his foray into electoral politics.

  • Ashutosh : He is a veteran TV journalist and will contest on a AAP ticket from the Chandni Chowk constituency. He is also the spokesperson of the party.

  • Raj Mohan Gandhi : He is an eminent scholar and is the grandson of Mahatma Gandhi. He contested on a AAP ticket from the East Delhi constituency.
Some important politicians of Delhi who are also members of the Parliament are:
  • Kapil Sibal : He was an INC MP from Chandni Chowk. He is currently the Union Minister of Law and Justice and Communications and Information Technology. He was first appointed as a Rajya Sabha member in 1998 in Bihar. He has held positions in the Ministry of Science & Technology and the Ministry of Human Resource Development.

  • Ajay Maken : He is a member of the INC and represented the New Delhi constituency in the 15th Lok Sabha. He is a former Union Minister and at present is the General Secretary of the INC.

  • Krishna Tirath : She was an MP from the North West Delhi constituency. She started her political career as an MLA and was the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Women and Child Development.

Famous Politicians
  • Chaudhury Brahm Prakash : He was a freedom fighter and played a significant role in the Individual Satyagraha movement and Quit India Movement. He was the first Chief Minister of Delhi and was also a former Union Minster for Food, Agriculture, Irrigation and Cooperatives.

  • Madan Lal Khurana : He is a prominent leader of the BJP. He started his political career as a student leader and went on to become the first non-Congress Chief Minister of Delhi. He also served as the Governor of Rajasthan.

  • Sahib Singh Verma : He was an important leader of the BJP and was the fourth Chief Minister of Delhi. He was a member of the 13th Lok Sabha and was a former Union Minister of Labour.

  • Sheila Dixit : She is the longest serving Chief Minister of Delhi. She led the INC in three consecutive victories in assembly elections and was in power from 1998 to 2013. At present, she is the Governor of Kerala.

  • Sushma Swaraj : She is a prominent leader of the BJP and was the first female Chief Minister of Delhi. She is also a former Union Minister and is the current Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

  • Vijay Kumar Malhotra : He is a politician of the BJP and represented Delhi Sadar and South Delhi constituencies in the 9th and 14th Lok Sabha, respectively. He is also a former leader of the opposition in the Delhi assembly.

  • Janardan Dwivedi : He is a politician of the INC and was elected as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Delhi in 2004.

  • Arvind Kejriwal : He is the leader of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and was the 7th Chief Minister of Delhi. He is well-known for his role in making the Right to Information Act a reality, and has received the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 2006.

Visit to get the latest Delhi election updates, Delhi elections 2019, Delhi lok sabha seats 2019, Delhi general elections news update and many more.

  Election Highlights  
2019 Quick Facts No. of PCs: 7
No. of Polling Days: 1
Polling Dates: 12 May (Phase 6)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs. 70 lakhs

Delhi Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1Chandni ChowkGENKapil SibalMINC465713
2North East DelhiGENJai Prakash AgarwalMINC518191
3East DelhiGENSandeep DikshitMINC518001
4New DelhiGENAjay MakanMINC455867
5North West Delhi(SC)Krishna TirathFINC487404
6West DelhiGENMahabal MishraMINC479899
7South DelhiGENRamesh KumarMINC360278

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Delhi  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Chandni Chowk5North West Delhi
2North East Delhi6West Delhi
3East Delhi7South Delhi
4New Delhi 

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.