Arunachal Pradesh Dance

It goes without mention that dance forms a chief ingredient in the festivities of Arunachal Pradesh. Like in many other states of India, Arunachal Pradesh dance forms the basis of all celebrations in the territory.

Some of the important dance of Arunachal Pradesh that deserves special mention in this context are:
  • Aji Lamu (Monpa Tribe)
  • Chalo (Nocte Tribe)
  • Hiirii Khaniing (Apatani Tribe)
  • Lion and Peacock dance (Monpa)
  • Pasi Kongki (Adi)
  • Ponung (Adi Tribe)
  • Popir (Adi Tribe), etc.
It is noteworthy in this context that most of the aforesaid dances are group dances, which is accompanied by songs, generally sung in a chorus. The dance performed by the Adi tribe of Arunachal Pradesh are generally group dances, which are performed by young girls decked in colorful costumes.

Although, dance in Arunachal Pradesh is performed both by men and women in groups; yet there are a few dances which are restricted to men in Arunachal Pradesh. Arunachal Pradesh dance such as the war dances of the Adis, Noctes and Wanchos, the Igu dance of the Mishmi tribe, the ritualistic dance of the Buddhist tribes are meant especially for the men: women are completely forbidden to participate in the aforesaid dance forms.

It is remarkable that the dance at Arunachal Pradesh has evolved tremendously. In Arunachal Pradesh, dance varies from martial steps and folk dances to highly specialized form of dance performed by the Buddhists. In Arunachal Pradesh, the Adis dance not only for merriment, but they celebrate the dance form as a form of art. Furthermore, the dance of the Buddhists in Arunachal Pradesh has taken the form of a stylized religious dance drama in their march towards evolution.

Last Updated on: 09 March 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations