Upcoming Bye Poll Election & Results 2018

Upcoming Bye Poll Parliamentary and State Election 2018

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Upcoming Bye Poll Election & Results 2018
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Map of Upcoming Bye Poll Parliamentary and State Election 2018 Disclaimer

Bye poll elections Results 2018

StateConstituencyConstiuency NameWinner PartyLeading PartyCandidate Name
MaharashtraParliamentaryBhandara-GondiyaNCPNCPKUKADE MADHUKRAO YASHAWANTRAO
MaharashtraParliamentaryPalgharBJPBJPGAVIT RAJENDRA DHEDYA
Uttar PradeshParliamentaryKairanaRLDRLDTABASSUM BEGUM
JharkhandAssemblyGomiaJMMJMMBABITA DEVI
JharkhandAssemblySilliJMMJMMSeema Devi
KeralaAssemblyChengannurCPICPI(M) Saji Cheriyan
MaharashtraAssemblyPalus KadegaonCongressCongressKadam Vishwajeet Patangrao
MeghalayaAssemblyAmpti (ST)CongressCongressMIANI D. SHIRA
PunjabAssemblyShahkotCongressCongressHARDEV SINGH LADI
UttarakhandAssemblyTharaliBJPBJPMUNNI DEVI SHAH
Uttar PradeshAssemblyNoorpurSamajwadiSamajwadiNaim Ul Hasan
West BengalAssemblyMaheshtalaTMCTMCDULAL CHANDRA DAS

State Assembly Bye-elections

The Election Commission of India released an official notice on May 3, 2018 pertaining to the Bye-elections for the State Assembly seats in the state of Bihar, Jharkhand, Kerala, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. The ECI has initiated the process to fill the vacant state assembly seats in these states, as the seats have been vacant for sometime mainly due to the unfortunate deaths of MLAs from the respective constituencies or due to the resignation of the MLAs. The ECI announced that the polling will take place in the above mentioned states on May 28, while the counting of votes will take place on May 31, in the respective assemblies.

After a fierce battle in the recently concluded Karnataka state assembly elections, the mighty BJP and the faltering Congress are set to battle it out once again in front of the electorates. The upcoming Bye-elections in the 10 state assembly seats are scheduled to take place on May 28. The parties are looking to take advantage of the situation, as the changing dynamics of the state assemblies can help the parties to increase their strength in the Rajya Sabha. The Congress and the BJP are set for a direct confrontation in the states like Maharashtra and Uttarakhand, two most dominant political parties in the country are set to contest against each other, aware about the implications that the result may have for either parties in their run-up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Some of the State Assembly Constituencies will see BJP come up against some of the regional parties such as the SP, BSP, LDF, RJD, and JMM, who are either joining hands with each other or battling it out alone to defeat a common enemy in BJP.

Here is the list of State Assembly constituencies that are heading for bye-polls on May 28:

StatesAssembly ConstituencyAC No.Date of PollingDate of Vote Counting
MaharashtraPalus Kadegaon28528.05.201831.05.2018
MeghalayaAmpti (ST)5328.05.201831.05.2018
Uttar PradeshNoorpur2428.05.201831.05.2018
West BengalMaheshtala15528.05.201831.05.2018

From this point onward, every election before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections is off paramount significance not only for the Opposition parties, but also for the ruling BJP. A united opposition is looking out for the possibilities of forming a Third Front with several regional and national parties coming together against a common nemesis in Bharatiya Janata Party. The ruling BJP will looking to add to their already impressive tallies in the state assemblies, as every seat can help the party in strengthening its number in the Upper House of the Indian Parliament. The party and its NDA allies are looking forward to 2019 Lok Sabha elections to replicate or better the performance of 2014 General Assembly elections.

Last Updated on : May 31, 2018