NTPC, Kota

An idyllic amalgam marking the grandeur of the majestic forts and palaces of Rajashthan as well as flourishing urban industrial conglomerates describes the stunning Kota city that sprawls on the banks of the Chambal River. Amongst the major industrial powerhouses of Kota, National Thermal Power Corporation,or NTPC, Kota is the largest repository of thermal power in the Indian subcontinent.

NTPC Limited is a public sector organization that came into being in the year 1975 with the purpose of boosting the development of power in the country. An exclusive undertaking of the Government of India, statistics reveal that the Government of India currently holds 89.5% of the stakes while the remaining 10.5% lies at the hands of the Foreign Institutional Investors (FII), National Banks as well as the general public. In fact, within a span of 31 years , NTPC, Kota has established itself as the

NTPC primarily deals with the development, engineering, establishment as well as operation of power plants that supply energy to all parts of the country. Besides it also provides consultancy to Indian as well as international organizations interested in establishing their own power plants. Currently NTPC has 27,904 Mega Watts of capacity that is generated through 15 coal based, 7 gas based as well as 7 joint venture projects.

NTPC also has 50%shareholding in the SAIL Power Supply Corporation Ltd. (SPSCL) and 28.33% in the in Ratnagiri Gas and Power Private Limited (RGPPL). An avant garde that has achieved path breaking progress for the country, NTPC is credited to be one of the 'Navratnas' or jewels of the public sector that is one of the first ever Public Sector Enterprises to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Government during 1987-88. Soon after this, the global conglomerate has consistently been rated as excellent.

Last Updated on 07 December 2011