Karnataka Railway Map

Karnataka Rail Network Map

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Karnataka Railway Map Bagalkot Bangalore Bangalore Rural Belgaum Bellary Bidar Bijapur Chamrajanagar Chikmagalur Chitradurga Dakshina Kannada Davangere Dharwad Gadag Gulbarga Hassan Haveri Kodagu Koppal Mandya Mysore Raichur Shimoga Tumkur Tumkur Udupi Uttra Kannada MAHARASTRA ANDHRA PRADESH TAMIL NADU KERALA GOA kolar Yadgiri Chikkaballapur TELANGANA
Print Email Save  
*Map showing the entire rail network of Karnataka. Disclaimer

The state of Karnataka is home to an extensive railways network. The overall span of the railways network of Karnataka is 3089 km.

Karnataka Railway Network: An Overview
For an extensive period of time since the freedom of the country, the railway network of Karnataka was overseen by the Western Railways and Southern Railways. The headquarters of Western Railways are based in Mumbai and the head office of Southern Railways is located in Chennai.

In 2003, the formation of the South Western Zone satisfied a very old requirement of Karnataka. The headquarters of South Western Railways are situated in Hubli. The Southern Railways covers a number of areas of the state of Karnataka and the rest is covered by the Southwestern Railways.

The Konkan Railway Network connects the various shoreline areas of the state of Karnataka. This railway network is the result of a venture which is considered as a significant achievement by the engineers of India. The landmark constructions in this venture include the building of a bridge which is 6,637 feet (2,023 meters) long. This bridge lies on the Sharavathi River near Honnavar. In addition, a passageway has also been constructed near Karwar and the span of this passageway is 9,711 feet or 2,960 meters.

The South Western Railway Zone, headquartered in Hubli, covers the following areas:

Mangalore, an important port city on the western seashores of Karnataka. A part of the Southern Railway Zone, it falls under the Palghat division. The Konkan Railway Corporation Ltd. operates the western coast railway tracks. The symbols of South Western Railway and Konkan Railway Corporation Ltd. are noticed on all the trains run by Konkan Railways. This might be a sign of a future unification of SWR with KR.

Last Updated on : January 10, 2015