Karnataka District Map

District Map of Karnataka
separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Karnataka District Map
Print Email Save
*Map showing all the districts of Karnataka with boundaries. Disclaimer

Karnataka, one of India's southern states has historically been known for being home to some of the most powerful dynasties and empires of ancient and medieval India.
The state has also been known for contributing significantly to the social-religious movement. Writers in the Kannada language have received the most number of Jnanpith Awards in India. Bangalore, (renamed as Bengaluru), the capital city of Karnataka is known as the Silicon Valley of India, due to it being the hub of the IT industry in the country. Karnataka has a population of 61,130,704 (2011 census) and the state is spread over an area of 191,791 km sq

Districts and Administration in Karnataka: For revenue and administration purposes, Karnataka has further been divided into 30 districts, 4 revenue divisions, 49 sub-divisions, 175 taluks and 745 revenue circles. The administration in each district is headed by a Deputy Commissioner, who belongs to the Indian Administrative Service; he/she also gets assistance from officers from the Karnataka State Services. The Deputy Commissioner of Police, an official from the Indian Police Service, is responsible for the law and order of the district. An officer from the Indian Forest Service also tales part in the running of the state. Sectoral development in each district is headed by the Public Works Department, health, education, agriculture, animal husbandry etc.

Tourism in Karnataka: Karnataka has various tourist spots, which include beautifully sculpted ancient temples, forests and beaches. Karnataka has many national parks, including the Bandipur National Park, Bannerghatta National Park and the Nagarhole National Park. The beautiful Western Ghats are home to places like Madikeri and Agumbe, famous for their scenic beauty. The ruins of the Vijayanagara Empire at Hampi are a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Gol Gumbaz is an excellent example of the Deccan Sultanate style of architecture. Karnataka is home to the Jog Falls, India's tallest single-tiered waterfall. Recently, Karnataka has become a popular destination for health care tourism and hospitals in Karnataka receive around 8000 health care tourists every year.

List of Districts in Karnataka:

S No.DistrictHeadquartersPopulation (Census 2011)Sex Ratio (per 1000)Average Literacy
3Bangalore RuralBangalore990,92394677.93%
12Dakshina KannadaMangalore2,089,649102088.57%
29Uttara KannadaKarwar1,437,16997984.06%


Last Updated on : May 12, 2017

  Related Links  



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations

Bagalkot Bangalore Bangaluru Rural Belgaum Bellary Bidar Bijapur Chamrajanagar Chikmagalur Chitradurga Dakshina Kannada Davangere Dharwad Gadag Gulbarga Hassan Haveri Kodagu Koppal Mandya Mysore Raichur Shivamogga Tumakuru Tumkur Udupi Uttra Kannada MAHARASTRA ANDHRA PRADESH TAMIL NADU KERALA GOA kolar Yadgiri TELANGANA Chikkaballapur Ramanagara