What are the Flagship Schemes of the Government of India?

What are the Flagship Schemes of the Government of India

What are the Flagship Schemes of the Government of India

हिंदी में पढ़ने के लिए यहां क्लिक करें

Flagship schemes of a government are those schemes which are the main or most important and address major national concerns on health, education, environment, irrigation, urban and rural development, employment and other sectors. As the schemes are of utmost importance, the funding of these schemes is slightly higher than other schemes. The word “Flagship” associated with these important schemes is derived from the original term ‘flagship’ meaning the most important or prioritized concern of an organization.

The Flagship schemes of the Indian Government are declared by the Union Cabinet or the Development Evaluation Advisory Committee (DEAC) of Planning Commission. The DEAC can modify the flagship schemes from time to time.

Some important flagship schemes of the government are given below-

Swacch Bharat Abhiyan

Swacch Bharat Abhiyan, officially launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on October 2, 2014, is a scheme which basically operates under the Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation and the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs. The scheme is run by the Government of India with an aim to achieve universal sanitation coverage. Swacch Bharat is the most significant cleanliness campaign of the Government of India. The mission aims to achieving a clean and green India by October 2019 as a fitting tribute to the Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of the Nation, on his 150th birth anniversary.

Digital India Programme

Digital India is basically a programme to transform India into a digitally empowered country. Launched on July 1, 2015, it is a flagship programme of the Government of India which has three components – (a) development of secure and stable digital infrastructure (b) delivering government services digitally and (c) universal digital literacy.
Through this project, the emphasis is given on digital literacy and availability of digital resources to Indian citizens. The programme benefits all the states and union territories of India and has been envisaged by the Department of Electronics and Information Technology (DeitY).
Also Read This : All Information about Digital India Programme

Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Programme (MGNREGA)

Also known as The Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, MGNREGA is an Indian legislation which was enacted on August 25, 2005. The objective of this act is to provide at least 100 days of guaranteed wage employment to every household in a financial year provided any adult member of the household is willing to do unskilled manual work. The entire implementation of this project is done by The Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India, in association with the state governments.
Also Read This : Schemes for Rural Development launched by Government of India

Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA)

Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) is a flagship scheme of the Government of India which aims to provide elementary education to children. It is basically an effort to provide equal opportunity to children to grow and develop skills and knowledge. The programme was started in 2001 and was supported by the 86th amendment in the Indian constitution which made free and compulsory education to children ranging from 6 to 14 years of age a fundamental right. SSA is also implemented in partnership with the State Government.
Also Read This eBasta – Features and Benefit for students

Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM)

JNNURM is a city- modernisation scheme which was launched by the Government of India under the Ministry of Urban Development on December 3, 2005. The programme is meant to improve the quality of infrastructure and lifestyle in the city. In 2015, the scheme was succeeded by Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation. As per this scheme, there will be housing for all by 2022. The water supply, sewerage, and other infrastructure can be linked to this scheme.
Also Read This Atal Pension Yojana (APY) for Social Security in India

Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana

PMSBY is an accident insurance scheme backed by the Government of India. It was formally launched in May 2015 by Prime Minister Modi in Kolkata. The objective of this scheme is to provide affordable insurance cover for poor and underprivileged people in the age group of 18 to 70 years. To avail the benefits of this scheme it is must for a candidate to possess a bank account. PMBSY has an annual premium of Rupees 12 exclusive of all taxes. The GST is exempted on this scheme and the amount gets automatically debited from the account.
Also Read This : Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana
PM’s Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP) : Details, Benefits, Objective, Eligibility

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana is a welfare scheme of the government which is run by the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance. Under this scheme, nearly 1.5 crore bank accounts were opened on the day of inauguration. The achievement was also recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records. Launched in August 2014, the aim of this scheme is to make affordable access to financial services including bank accounts, remittances, credit, insurance, and pensions.
Also Read This: Jan Dhan Yojana – The Progress and the Roadblocks
Jan Dhan Yojna – BC Scheme and Financial Literacy Can Help
Jan Dhan Yojana – Target Achieved, But Benefits Still Elusive

Beti Bachao Beti Padhao

Beti Bachao Beti Padhao is a programme of the Government of India which aims at preventing female foeticide and generating awareness for the same. The scheme also aims at improving the efficiency of welfare services intended for girls. Other objectives of the scheme include preventing gender-biased sex-selective elimination, celebrating the girl child and enabling her education, ensuring education and participation of the girl child.
Also Read This : Sukanya Samriddhi Yajana: New Scheme for a Girl Child in India
How to improve the position of girl child in the rural areas of India

Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana

(PMKVY) is the flagship scheme of the Ministry of Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (MSDE). The objective of this Skill Certification Scheme is to enable a large number of Indian youth to take up industry-relevant skill training that will help them in securing a better livelihood. Individuals with prior learning experience or skills will also be assessed and certified under Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL). Under this Scheme, Training and Assessment fees are completely paid by the Government.
Also Read This : Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojana
MUDRA Bank Yojana
Garib Kalyan Yojnaye 
Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana
Pahal Scheme