Ratnagiri is situated in the southwestern part of Maharashtra. Ratnagiri was the administrative capital during the reign of the Bijapur rulers.

The area around Ratnagiri is bordered by the Sahyadri Hills on the West. The enormous showers resulted into massively eroded landscapes in the coastal region. The valleys are very fertile and produce rice, coconut, fruit and cashew nuts.

Ratnagiri possesses a tropical climatic condition. The main attractions of Ratnagiri include:
  • Parshuram Temple near Chiplun
  • Ganapatipule and Pavas
  • Caves in the Chiplun, Khed, Dabhol, Sangameshwar, Gauhani Velgaum and Vade Padel
  • The Buddhist legend in the Papanch, Sudan and Srath Appakasini record the conversion of Konkan to Buddhism.

Chiplun is a place on the Mumbai to Goa highway (NH-17). It is a town contributing chiefly to the top pharmaceutical and chemical industries. The word Chiplun means 'The abode of Lord Parshuram'. The region is mountainous and the place lies in a valley. The region shows extreme climate. The city takes pride of the Padma Theater.

Ganapatipule is a primitive pilgrimage located in Ratnagiri district. It has a rich history and is a very beautiful sea town. Ganapatipule is 25 kilometers from Ratnagiri. It has a Swayambhoo of Ganapati.

You may go to Ratnagiri by:
  • Air: Ratnagiri airport is the nearest airport.
  • Rail: Ratnagiri has a rail network.
  • Road: The place is connected by road transport with important towns such as Mumbai , Pune , Kolhapur, etc.
Ratnagiri is one of the major tourist site that is located close to the city of Pune. The place is visited by a large number of tourists every year for its tranquil beauty.

  Places Near Pune  

Last Updated on : 23 May 2013



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations