Pune District Map

Click any neighbouring District/State on the Map and get the Detailed Map

District Map of Pune

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Pune Pune City Map Satara Solapur Ahmadnagar Thane Raigad
Print Email Save
*The Map showing National Highways, District headquarter, Major Roads, etc in Pune District, Maharashtra Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Maharashtra  
Pune District Map Aurangabad District Map Nagpur District Map Kolhapur District Map
Pune District MapAurangabad District MapNagpur District MapKolhapur District Map
Nashik District Map Satara  District Map Jalgaon District Map Ratnagiri District Map
Nashik District MapSatara District MapJalgaon District MapRatnagiri District Map
  other districts of Maharashtra >>

Pune is the eight largest metropolitan in India which is located in Maharashtra district. It is also the second largest district and was formerly known as, Poona or Punya nagari.

This was once the center of Maratha Empire but, later it came under Maharashtra state. The founder of Maratha Empire, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj was from Pune and this is the reason it has rich historical and cultural significance. Presently, Pune is the educational hub and center of industrial growth.

Geography of Pune
Pune district is located 560 m above sea level on the western margin of the Deccan plateau. It is very hilly and raised area with lots of hill stations for tourist attractions. Pune is located very near to the Koyna Dam is rated as Zone 4 by the India Meteorological Department. This makes it highly earthquake prone city.

Pune climate
Pune has dry and tropical wet climate. The average temperature ranges between 20 to 28o C. The district of Pune is affected by three seasons - monsoon, summer and winter. The summers are from March to May and the temperature varies from 30 to 38o C. The monsoon starts from June and is till October with moderate rainfall. Overall the weather in Pune is very pleasant through the year. Winter is expected from November which continues to lower the temperature till January.

Administration in Pune
The Pune district is under Pune Municipal Corpoation (PMC). There are total 149 elected councilors headed by the Mayor. Apart from PMC there are four more administrative bodies that are active with Pune Metropolitan Area -
  • Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC) - Pimpri-Chinchwad and its surroundings
  • Khadki Cantonment Board (KCB) - Khadki
  • Pune Cantonment Board (PCB) - Pune Cantonment
  • Dehu Road Cantonment Board - Dehu Road area
Pune transport
Pune international airport is well connected to all the major cities of India. It also has Indian Air Force Base. This is because Pune has military cantonment. Railways are also well linked but, it is better to opt for roadways.

Buses and private shuttle are one of the very popular conveyance opted by the local residents. Pune is very well linked to National Highways and state highways. The NH4 connects it to Mumbai, Bangluru, Sangli and Kolhapur. NH9 connects to Hyderabad, Solapur and NH50 to Nashik. The Mumbai Pune Expressway which India's first six lane high speed expressway is well known. It was built in 2002. The intra city highways - Old Pune Mumbai Highway and Katraj Dehu Road Bypass has made traveling very comfortable.

Hotels in Pune
  • Le Meridien
  • Sun-N-Sand Hotel
  • Taj Blue Diamond
  • Gordon House
  • Best Western Pride Hotel
  • Aurora Towers
  • Kohinoor Executive
  • The Central Park
  • Oakwood
  • Sagar Plaza
  • Maurya Residency
Places to visit in Pune
  • Shaniwarwada
  • Aga Khan Palace
  • Pataleshwar Cave Temple
  • Chaturshringi Temple
  • Shinde Chhatri
  • Saras Baug
  • Rajiv Gandhi Zoological Park
  • Raja Dinkar Kelkar Museum
  • National War Memorial Southern Command
  • Pu La Deshpande Garden
  • Dashabhuja Ganapati Temple
  • Vishrambaug Wada
  • Peshwe Park
  • Sinhagad Fort
  • Empress Garden
  • Budhwar Peth
Places of tourist interest near Pune
  • Sinhagad Fort
  • Baneshwar
  • Khadakwasla
  • Mahabaleswar
  • Balaji Mandir Ketkawla
  • Khatgun(satara)

Last Updated on : 25/04/2013



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations