World map Banner
India map Banner
Track Your Constituency

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012 Schedule

Latest Information about Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012

S.l NoPoll Event1st Phase2nd Phase3rd Phase4th Phase5th Phase6th Phase7th Phase
1Issue of Notification12/01/2012 (Thursday)16.01.12 (Monday)21.01.12 (Saturday)25.01.12 (Wednesday)28.01.12 (Saturday)02/02/2012 (Thursday) 06.02.2012 (Monday
2Last date for making Nominations19.01.12 (Thursday)23.01.12 (Monday)28.01.12 (Saturday)01/02/2012 (Wednesday)04/02/2012 (Saturday)09/02/2012 (Thursday)13.02.2012 (Monday)
3Scrutiny of Nominations20.01.12 (Friday)24.01.12 (Tuesday)30.01.12 (Monday)02/02/2012 (Thursday)06/02/2012 (Monday)10/02/2012 (Friday) 14.02.2012 (Tuesday
4Last date for withdrawal of candidature 23.01.1227.01.1201/02/1204/02/1208/02/1213.02.12 16.02.2012
5Date of Poll08/02/2012 (Wednesday)11/02/2012 (Saturday)15.02.12 (Wednesday)19.02.12 (Sunday)23.02.12 (Thursday)28.02.12 (Tuesday) 03.03.2012 (Saturday
6Counting of Votes04/03/2012 (Sunday)04/03/2012 (Sunday)04/03/2012 (Sunday)04/03/2012 (Sunday)04/03/2012 (Sunday)04/03/2012 (Sunday)06.03.2012 (Tuesday)
7Date before which election process shall be completed 09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)09/03/2012 (Friday)

The year 2012 will see general elections being conducted in fives states of India including the state of Uttar Pradesh. Uttar Pradesh is the most populous country in India and therefore the elections will be held in seven phases in the state over the month of February.

As per the trends, SP (Samajwadi Party) dominates the elections in the state of Uttar Pradesh with majority of votes going in favor of the party. Uttar Pradesh continues to be a trouble area for the Indian National Congress as they are unable to produce impressing results in the state.

However, the congress surprised everyone in the general elections held in 2009, when it secured second position in the tally of votes. Interest is alive on the fact whether Congress will be able to repeat the performance. Mayawati led BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party) is the favourite party in the state as it registered a victory with a large margin in the 2007 General Elections. Also, Mayawati has a large fan base.

Last Updated on 19 January 2012.