Indian Premier League 2009 (IPL)

Indian Premier League or IPL, as it is fondly referred to, is a new kid on the cricket block. A somewhat different version of Twenty20, Indian Premier League became an instant eye catcher with its launch in April 2008. Created by the Board of Cricket Control of India, the league is managed by the Vice President, BCCI, Lalit Modi. Involving players from all across the globe, India Premier League presented the cricket in its latest avatar.

Starting its first season in April 2008, IPL is all set for its second term, schedule to get started on April 10, 2009. There were 8 teams Royal Bangalore Challenger, Knight Riders, King XI Punjab, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians and Deccan Chargers - in the first season of the Indian Premier League, which competed against each other. The four winning teams progressed to the semi finals and the winners from both the semi finals made it to the finals of the IPL. Rajasthan Royals won the finals and took the Indian Premier League 2008 trophy home.

The upcoming season of the Indian Premier League, commencing on April 10, 2009 is expected to be more interesting with some of the leading players of the various teams, taking part in it. The first match will be hosted by the winners of the last year - Rajasthan Royals - in Jaipur. The detailed schedule of the Indian Premier League 2009 has also been made available.

IPL Teams

IPL Teams Owner

IPL Teams Captain

Rajasthan Royals Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra Shane Warne
Kings XI Punjab Preity Zinta Yuvaraj Singh
Chennai SuperKings India Cement M.S. Dhoni
Delhi Daredevils Yogesh Shetty
(GMR Group)
Virendra Sehwag
Mumbai Indians Mukesh Ambani Sachin Tendulkar
Kolkata Knight Riders Shah Rukh Khan Saurav Ganguly
Bangalore Royal Challengers Vijay Mallya Kevin Pieterson
Deccan Chargers J Krishan
(Deccan Chronicle)



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations