Quick Facts on Madhya Pradesh

Some quick facts on Madhya Pradesh includes information about its location, districts, cities, area, population, language, etc. One of the largest states of India, Madhya Pradesh shares its boundaries with other Indian states - Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Rajasthan.

The state has 48 districts, which are grouped into 8 divisions. These are Bhopal, Chambal, Gwalior, Indore, Jabalpur, Rewa, Sagar and Ujjain.

  • Latitudinal Location: 23.30 N
  • Longitudinal Location: 80.00 E
  • Area: 308,144 square kilometer
  • Population: 60,385,118 (2001)
  • Principal language Spoken: Hindi
  • Literacy rate (2001): 64.11%
  • Per Capita Income (1992-93): 4,725

Quick Facts on Madhya Pradesh (How to Reach By Air): Madhya Pradesh has a number of airports. Gwalior, Khajuraho, Indore, Jabalpur and Bhopal are major airports of the state. Regular flights are operated by all major public and private airlines to these airports. The most convenient way to travel to Madhya Pradesh is the low cost and comfortable flights to the state.

Quick Facts on Madhya Pradesh (How to Reach By Rail): Bhopal is the main railway station of Gujarat. It operates many trains connecting it to the rest of India.

Quick Facts on Madhya Pradesh (How to Reach By Road): A well - planned network of National Highways and State Highways link the cities of Madhya Pradesh to the other Indian cities.


At last estimate, the geographical area covered by Madhya Pradesh was 30.76 million hectares, which was included under 48 districts.

  • Bundelkhand- A zone of rolling hills and fertile valleys in the north, sloping down towards the Indo-Gangetic plain. Bhopal and Gwalior are located here.

  • Baghelkhand- A hilly region in the northeast, which consists of the eastern end of the Vindhya Range.

  • Mahakoshal (Mahakaushal)- In the southeastern part, it comprises the eastern edge of the Narmada river valley and the eastern Satpuras. Jabalpur is located here. Madhya Pradesh with 76,429 square kilometers of forest regions boasts the maximum forest cover area amongst all states and Union Territories.

    Pin Code

    Pin Code in Madhya Pradesh follow the usual six digit postal index code that is the standardized system followed all over India. The many areas under a particular district have Related pin codes.

    The Madhya Pradesh pin codes usually begin with cardinal number four. For example the regions within the corporation of Indore use 45 at the beginning of their pin codes. Similarly, the regions in the corporation of Bhopal begin with 46, and so on and so forth.

    Pin Code or the codes based on the postal index number is essential to a country as big and diverse as India. Once indispensable for communication of all personal and official matters, importance of the pin code continues undiminished. Used still for official communication and to maintain personal interaction in the more remote areas where the modern modes of communication are largely absent, pin code is central to the communicative network of the country. more...

    ign="center">Name of the City or TownTelephone Code Ajaigarh 7730 Amarwada 7167 td>7367 Baihar 7636 Balaghat 7632 td>7486 Betul 7141 Bhimpur 7142 Bhind 7534 Bhopal 755 Birsa 7637 Bhikangaon 7288 Baroda 7531 Berasia 7565 Burhanpur 7325 Chachaura 7546 Chanderi 7547 Chhapara 7691 Chhatarpur 7682 Chhindwara 7162 Chicholi 7145 Dabra 7524 Deosar 7801 Dhar 7292 Dharampuri 7294 Gairatganj 7481 Garoth 7425 Ghorandogri 7146 Gogaon 7287 Gopalganj 7695 Gourihar 7688 Gunnore 7731 Gyraspur 7596 Guna 7542 Gwalior 751 Hoshangabad 7574 Indore 731 Jabalpur 761 Jhabua 7392 Jaisinghnagar 7651 Jaithari 7659 Jatara 7681 Jobat 7393 Jora 7537 Kannodi 7656 Kareli 7793 Karpa 7628 Kasrawad 7285 Khajuraho 7686 Khandwa 733 Lanji 7635 Laher 7529 Majhagwan 7670 Majholi 7803 Manawar 7291 Mauganj 7663 Mawai 7648 Mehgaon 7527 Multai 7147 Maheshwar 7283 Mandsaur 7422 Mandla 7642 Mhow 7324 Nagod 7673 Nainpur 7646 Narsinghpur 7792 Nasrullaganj 7563 Pachmarhi 7578 Panna 7732 Patharia 7601 Pichhore 7496 Piparia 7576 Pushparajgarh 7629 Raghunathpur 7535 Rewa 7662 Sagar 7582 Sarangpur 7371 Satna 7672 Sendhwa 7281 Shivpuri 7492 Sidhi 7822 Singrauli 7805 Sirmour 7660 Sironj 7591 Sondhwa 7395 Sitamau 7426 Tikamgarh 7683 Thandla 7390 Ujjain 734

    Last Updated on : 14th March 2013