Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh (MP)

The office of the Chief Minister is vested with the maximum power in the government, although the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh is made answerable to the Governor. Precisely, it can be said that the Chief Minister is the head of the state of Madhya Pradesh government.

Chief Minister is elected as the head of the government through a general election, and the party that gets the majority nominates its leader as candidate for the post of Chief Minister.

The Chief Minister is elected for a term of 5 years; but a Chief Minister can be re-elected after the expiry of his tenure, i. e. a person can nominate himself as the prospective candidate owing to the response he gets from the general public.

Some of the famous Chief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh who will always be remembered in Indian political system are:
  • Prakash Chand Sethi
  • Kailsh Chandra Joshi
  • Virendra Kumar Sakhlecha
  • Sunderlal Patwa
  • Arjun Singh
  • Motilal Vora
  • Digvijay Singh
  • Uma Bharti
  • Babulal Gaur
  • Shivraj Singh Chouhan.
It is noteworthy that beside these Chief Ministers in Madhya Pradesh there has been times when the administration of Madhya Pradesh went under the domain of the President of India.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who is the present Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, has been a good administrator since his appointment on 29th November, 2005.

Although the Governor elects the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, but it on the advise of the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh that the Governor takes some crucial decisions like:
  • appointing some of the significant administrative departments, viz.:
    • the Council of Minister
    • Advocate General
    • Chairman and members of the State Public Service Commission, etc.
    • dismiss the aforesaid posts on lieu of breach of duty
    • confirm the bills passed in the Legislative Assembly, etc.
Although the constitution of India has rendered the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh answerable to the Governor, it is the Chief Minister who enjoys the highest administrative position.

List of Chief Ministers (CM) of Madhya Pradesh (MP)

Sr.No.Chief Ministers Name ToParty Name
1Pt. Ravishankar ShuklaNov 1, 1956Dec 31, 1956INC
2Bhagwantrao MandloiJan 1, 1957Jan 30, 1957INC
3Kailash Nath KatjuJan 31, 1957Mar 14, 1957INC
4Kailash Nath KatjuMar 14, 1957Mar 11, 1962INC
5Bhagwantrao MandloiMar 12, 1962Sep 29, 1963INC
6Dwarka Prasad MishraSep 30, 1963Mar 8, 1967INC
7Dwarka Prasad MishraMar 9, 1967Jul 29, 1967INC
8Govind Narayan SinghJul 30, 1967Mar 12, 1969INC
9Raja Nareshchandra SinghMar 13, 1969Mar 25, 1969INC
10Shyama Charan ShuklaMar 26, 1969Jan 28, 1972INC
11Prakash Chandra SethiJan 29, 1972Mar 22, 1972INC
12Prakash Chandra SethiMar 23, 1972Dec 22, 1975INC
13Shyama Charan ShuklaDec 23, 1975Apr 29, 1977INC
President's ruleApr 29, 1977Jun 25, 1977 
14Kailash Chandra JoshiJun 26, 1977Jan 17, 1978Janata Party
15Virendra Kumar SaklechaJan 18, 1978Jan 19, 1980Janata Party
16Sunderlal PatwaJan 20, 1980Feb 17, 1980Janata Party
President's ruleFeb 18, 1980Jun 8, 1980 
17Arjun SinghJun 8, 1980Mar 10, 1985INC
18Arjun SinghMar 11, 1985Mar 12, 1985INC
19Motilal VoraMar 13, 1985Feb 13, 1988INC
20Arjun SinghFeb 14, 1988Jan 24, 1989INC
21Motilal VoraJan 25, 1989Dec 8, 1989INC
22Shyama Charan ShuklaDec 9, 1989Mar 4, 1990INC
23Sunderlal PatwaMar 5, 1990Dec 15, 1992BJP
President's ruleDec 16, 1992Dec 6, 1993 
24Digvijay SinghDec 7, 1993Dec 1, 1998INC
25Digvijay SinghDec 1, 1998Dec 8, 2003INC
26Uma BhartiDec 8, 2003Aug 23, 2004BJP
27Babulal GaurAug 23, 2004Nov 29, 2005BJP
28Shivraj Singh ChauhanNov 29, 2005Dec 12, 2008BJP
29Shivraj Singh ChauhanDec 13, 2008PresentBJP

Chief Ministers of India

Andhra PradeshJharkhandPondicherry
Arunachal PradeshKarnatakaPunjab
BiharMadhya PradeshSikkim
ChhattisgarhMaharashtraTamil Nadu
GujaratMizoramUttar pradesh
Himachal PradeshOrissaWest Bengal
Jammu Kashmir 

Last Updated on : September 13, 2014



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations