Madhya Pradesh Government

The government of Madhya Pradesh is the apex administrative body in the state.

Madhya Pradesh Government

The state of Madhya Pradesh is made up of 50 districts. In terms of area, it is the second biggest state in India after Rajasthan. The government of Madhya Pradesh is made up of an executive, a legislative, and a judiciary division. The executive branch of the government is headed by the Governor of the state. At present, the Governor of Madhya Pradesh is Ram Naresh Yadav. Similar to other states of the country, the head of the state is the Governor. He is nominated by the President of India with consultation with the union government. The position of the governor is mostly formal.

Where is the seat of Madhya Pradesh Government located?

The seat of Madhya Pradesh government is situated in Bhopal, the capital of the state. The city also houses the secretariat.

Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

The Chief Minister of the state heads the administration and is entrusted with majority of the executive authorities. At present, the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh is Shivraj Singh Chouhan and took over as chief minister of the state on 29 November 2005.

Ministries and Departments of Madhya Pradesh Government

The various departments and ministries of the government of Madhya Pradesh are as follows:
  • Animal Husbandry
  • 20-Point Implementation
  • Backward Classes & Minorities Welfare
  • Aviation
  • Bio Diversity & Bio Technology
  • Bhopal Gas Tragedy Relief & Rehabilitation
  • Commerce & Industry
  • Co-operation
  • Culture
  • Commercial Taxes
  • Farmer Welfare & Agriculture Development
  • Energy
  • Fisheries
  • Finance
  • Forest General Administration
  • Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Protection
  • Home Horticulture & Food Processing
  • Higher Education
  • Indian Systems of Medicine & Homeopathy (Ayush)
  • Housing & Environment
  • Jail
  • Information Technology
  • Law & Legislative Affairs
  • Labour
  • Mineral Resources
  • Medical Education
  • Panchayat & Rural Development
  • Narmada Valley Development
  • Planning, Economics & Statistics
  • Parliamentary Affairs
  • Public Grievances Redressal
  • Public Enterprises
  • Public Health Engineering
  • Public Health & Family Welfare
  • Public Service Management System
  • Public Relations
  • Rehabilitation
  • Public Works
  • Revenue
  • Religious Trusts and Endowments
  • Scheduled Caste & Scheduled Tribe Welfare
  • School Education
  • Rural Industries
  • Social Welfare
  • Science & Technology
  • Technical Education and Man Power Planning
  • Sports & Youth Welfare
  • Transport
  • Tourism
  • Water Resources
  • Urban Administration & Development
  • Women & Child Development

Judiciary in Madhya Pradesh

The Madhya Pradesh High Court is located in Jabalpur. The High Court has control over the entire state. It was set up on 2 January 1936 as the Nagpur High Court and in accordance with the Government of India Act 1935; Letters Patent. Initially, it functioned from Nagpur. However, following the restructuring of the provinces in November 1956, the court shifted to Jabalpur. The Madhya Pradesh High Court has approved judge strength of 42. The principal bench is located in Jabalpur and there are two other permanent benches in Gwalior and Indore.

What is the contact address of Madhya Pradesh High Court?

  • Registrar General
    Madhya Pradesh High Court
    Principal Seat, Jabalpur
    Jabalpur (MP) -482002
    Telephone (EPABX): 0761 -2622674, 2620380

  • Principal Registrar
    Madhya Pradesh High Court
    Gwalior Bench
    Gwalior (M.P.) - 474001
    Telephone (EPABX): 0751 - 2402236

  • Principal Registrar
    Madhya Pradesh High Court
    Indore Bench
    Indore (M.P.) - 452001
    Telephone (EPABX): 0731 -2528444, 2528555

Last Updated on : September 26, 2014



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations